The News Scroll 15 November 2017  Last Updated at 12:54 pm | Source: PTI

WB govt to set up two new police commissionerates

WB govt to set up two new police commissionerates

Kolkata, Nov 15 The Mamata Banerjee government has decided to set up two new police commissionerates in West and East Midnapore districts.

The proposed two new police commissionerates will be set up in Kharagpur in West Midnapore district and Haldia in East Midnapore district, a senior official at the state Home department said today.

"This is a proposal which will soon take shape. We have already started working on it. The two police commissionerates will be at Haldia and Kharagpur," the officer told .

With the introduction of two new commissionerates, the number of police commissionerates in the state will be eight.

Incidentally, six new police commissionerates were set up in West Bengal after Trinamool Congress came in power.

The six new police commissionerates are Howrah, Asansol-Durgapur, Bidhannagar, Barrackpore, Siliguri and Chandannagar, which was the last police commissionerate set up by state government in Hooghly district.

The Asansol-Durgapur Police Commissionerate with 20 police stations under its jurisdiction, is the largest followed by Barrackpore (12), Chandannagar (10), Bidhannagar (9), Howrah (8) and Siliguri (5).

Disclaimer :- This story has not been edited by Outlook staff and is auto-generated from news agency feeds.
Next Story :
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store