The News Scroll 24 March 2018  Last Updated at 1:37 am | Source: PTI

Rebati Mohan Das elected Tripura speaker

Rebati Mohan Das elected Tripura speaker

Agartala, Mar 23 BJP MLA Rebati Mohan Das was today unanimously elected the speaker of Tripura Assembly.

Protem Speaker Ratan Chakraborty announced in the House that he had received only Rebati Mohan Das' nomination for the post and declared him elected.

The deputy speaker is yet to be elected.

Later, Das announced that Manik Sarkar was elected as the leader of the opposition, former minister Badal Choudhury as deputy leader of the opposition and Tapan Chakraborty the whip of opposition members.

He also announced that Kalyani Roy was elected the chief whip of the ruling BJP.

Disclaimer :- This story has not been edited by Outlook staff and is auto-generated from news agency feeds.
Next Story : Voting for five Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal ends
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store