Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022

By-poll Results: BJP Wins 5 Seats, AAP Suffers Setback In Punjab's Sangrur, See Final Results

The Bharatiya Janata Party also won two Lok Sabha bypolls in Uttar Pradesh's Samajwadi Party strongholds of Azamgarh and Rampur.

Photograph of BJP supporters celebrating election victory in March 2022.
Photograph of BJP supporters celebrating election victory in March 2022. PTI Photo/Nand Kumar

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday won two Lok Sabha and three state assembly seats in by-elections held in five states and the union territory of Delhi, as the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) suffered a setback in Punjab as as it lost in the stronghold of Sangrur where Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann had won twice.

The AAP's failure in Sangrur comes just three months after it came to power in the state in a landslide victory. However, there was something to cheer about for the AAP as it won the bypoll to the Rajinder Nagar seat in Delhi.

In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP won in the home turf of Samajwadi Party (SP). In Tripura, the CPI(M) lost its citadel of Jubarajnagar to the BJP by a margin of 4,572 votes.

Here are the results to all the seats that went to bypolls:

Uttar Pradesh

The BJP emerged victorious in the Samajwadi Party's turf in Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha seats.

In Rampur, BJP's Ghanshyam Lodhi defeats Mohd Asim Raja of the Samajwadi Party by 42,192 votes.

In Azamgarh, BJP's Dinesh Lal Yadav 'Nirahua' defeated the nearest rival Dharmendra Yadav of the SP by 8,679 votes.


In Sangrur, Simranjit Singh Mann of Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) defeated the nearest river Gurmail Singh of AAP by 5,822 votes.


The BJP consolidated its position by winning three of the four assembly seats. Chief Minister Manik Saha secured 17,181 votes, which is 51.63 per cent of the total votes polled.

He said, "The people who voted for me, I thank them. This is the victory of BJP workers. I expected the margin to be a bit more. However, the results prove the understanding between the CPI(M) and Congress. We will work accordingly in the future, but people did not take this understanding in a good way."

In Town Bardowali assembly seat, Saha defeated the nearest rival Asish Kumar Saha of the Congress by 6,104 votes.

In Agartala assembly seat, Congress' Sudip Roy Barman deafeated the nearest rival, BJP's Ashok Sinha, by 3,163 votes.

In Jubarajnagar seat, BJP's Malina Debnath defeated nearest rival Shailendra Chandra Nath of CPI(M) by 4,572 votes.

In Surma assembly seat, BJP's Swapna Das beat nearest rival Baburam Satnami of TIPRA Motha by 4,583 votes.

Andhra Pradesh

In Atmakuru assembly seat, YSRC's Mekapati Vikram Reddy defeated nearest rival G Bharat Kumar Yadav of the BJP by 82,888 votes.


In Mandar assembly seat, Congress' Shilpi Neha Tirkey defeated nearest rival Gangotri Kujur of the BJP by 23,517 votes.


In Rajinder Nagar assembly seat, AAP's Durgesh Pathak defeated nearest rival Rajesh Bhatia of the BJP by 11,468 votes

(With PTI inputs)