IPL 2024: BCCI Secretary Jay Shah Announces Cash Reward For 'Unsung Heroes' Ground Staff

2024 was the first time in the history of IPL that as many as 13 venues were used to host matches

Rain intervened quite a few times in IPL 2024 Photo: AP

BCCI secretary Jay Shah on Monday announced cash reward worth Rs 25 lakh each for the ground staff of the 10 regular stadiums that hosted matches of Indian Premier League 2024 as a token of appreciation for preparing "brilliant" pitches throughout the tournament. (More Cricket News)

Apart from the 10 regular stadiums, three other stadiums that hosted matches were awarded Rs 10 lakhs each.

Shah took to X to announce the cash reward and described the ground staff as "unsung heroes" of the tournament.

"The unsung heroes of our successful T20 season are the incredible ground staff who worked tirelessly to provide brilliant pitches, even in difficult weather conditions," the BCCI secretary wrote on X.

Shah added: "As a token of our appreciation, the groundsmen and curators at the 10 regular IPL venues will receive INR 25 lakhs each, and the same at the 3 additional venues will get INR 10 lakhs each. Thank you for your dedication and hard work!"

The 10 regular venues for the IPL are Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Lucknow, Ahmedabad and Jaipur.

The additional venues this year were Guwahati, Visakhapatnam and Dharamsala. While Guwahati was the second home venue for Rajasthan Royals, Visakhapatnam hosted Delhi Capitals' first leg of home matches.

The picturesque Dharamsala served as the second base for Punjab Kings.

This was the first time in the history of IPL that as many as 13 venues were used to host matches.

This year's tournament was an unusually high-scoring one with teams crossing 200 for fun and even the 250-mark was breached eight times. Eight of the top nine scores in the history of the IPL are now from 2024.

RCB's 2013 record of IPL's highest total of 263 is now the fifth largest.

Kolkata Knight Riders became the champions of the IPL 2024 after they thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad in the most one-sided final in the history of the tournament. It was KKR's third IPL trophy and first since 2014.