T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8: Teams Qualifie And Eliminated So Far - Check Full List

Till June 16, seven teams, have qualified for the Super 8 stage of the marquee tournament -India, Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, West Indies, USA and England

ICC t20 world cup 2024
ICC T20 World Cup 2024: AUS are through to the Super 8 stage. Photo: AP/Ricardo Mazalan

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is in progress and there are teams that are fighting to secure their spots in the Super 8 stage. Till June 16, seven teams, have qualified for the Super 8 stage of the marquee tournament -India, Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, West Indies, USA and England . (Full Coverage | More Cricket News)

The format of the tournament is pretty simple. 20 teams are divided into four groups of five. Each team will play at least four matches from the same group. The top two will advance to the Super 8s, while the bottom three teams will be eliminated.

In the Super 8s, eight teams will be further divided into two groups. Each side will play a total of three games. The top two sides from those groups will determine the semi-finalists.

Teams Qualified For Super 8s at the ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Group A - India, USA

Group B - Australia, England

Group C - West Indies, Afghanistan

Group D - South Africa, Bangladesh or Netherlands

T20 World Cup Super 8 Groups

Group 1 teams - India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh / Netherlands

Group 2 teams - USA, England, West Indies, South Africa

The final will be held in Barbados on June 29.

The Proteas are the first team to qualify for the Super 8s after having won after having won their first three games in Group D. They defeated Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Bangladesh to qualify. The wash-out between Nepal and Sri Lanka confirmed their status in the Super 8s.

As for the Aussies, their dominant victory over Namibia sealed their progress to the Super 8s. The Aussies had earlier defeated the likes of Oman and England to seal their qualification from Group B.

India booked their ticket for the Super 8 ticket after defeating USA to earn third straight win in the tournament. The Men In Blue had earlier defeated Ireland and Pakistan in their first two games.

And, the Windies advanced to the next round of the ICC T20 World Cup with a 13-run victory against New Zealand in the 26th match. Earlier in the tournament, the co-hosts thrashed Uganda by 134 runs, and defeated Papua New Guinea by 5 wickets.

Speaking of Afghanistan, their journey has been nothing short of exemplary. The team secured their sport in the Super Eights with 6 points from 3 matches and notably the highest NNR (+4.230). Rashid Khan and Co defeated Papua New Guinea by seven wickets in Trinidad, thereby simultaneously eliminating New Zealand.

In a twist of fate, England have made their way to the next stage of the t20 World Cup 2024. They first defeated Namibia by a huge margin of 41 runs equaling the points (5) with the second placed team Scotland and then waited for Australia to beat Scotland by 5 wickets. By the virtue of better NNR (+3.611) the defending champions get back on the track.

England's captain Jos Buttler, center, celebrates with Jofra Archer, left, and Sam Curran after winning an ICC Men's T20 World Cup cricket match against Namibia at Siv Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda, Saturday, June 15, 2024. (AP Photo/Ricardo Mazalan) Photo: Ricardo Mazalan

Eliminated Teams Of T20 World Cup 2024

The teams that have been officially been eliminated from the tournament are:

Group A - Canada, Pakistan, Ireland

Group B - Namibia, Oman, Scotland

Group C - New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Uganda

Group D - Sri Lanka, Nepal, (Bangladesh or Netherlands)

Namibia's defeat to Australia left them with two points from three games and are already facing the exit door.

Oman, on the other hand, have lost all their three group games and thus confirmed their elimination from the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

Pakistan was eliminated after the hosts USA made it through to the Super 8s after India from Group A. Babar Azam's side experienced their lowest finish in the T20 World Cup history this year, with only 2 points from 3 matches.

ICC T20 World Cup Super Eight Fixtures:

19 June: USA vs South Africa, North Sound, Antigua

19 June: England vs West Indies, Gros Islet, St Lucia

20 June: Afghanistan vs India, Bridgetown, Barbados

20 June: Australia vs D2, North Sound, Antigua

21 June: England vs South Africa, Gros Islet, St Lucia

21 June: USA vs West Indies, Bridgetown, Barbados

22 June: India vs D2, North Sound, Antigua

22 June: Afghanistan vs Australia, Arnos Vale, St Vincent

23 June: USA vs England, Bridgetown, Barbados

23 June: West Indies vs South Africa, North Sound, Antigua

24 June: Australia vs India, Gros Islet, St Lucia

24 June: Afghanistan vs D2, Arnos Vale, St Vincent

*Note - D2 here means either Bangladesh or Netherlands