IRE Vs NZ, 1st ODI: New Zealand Escape With One-Wicket Win Against Ireland

Michael Bracewell hit an unbeaten 127 off 82 balls, including three fours and two sixes in the final over to help New Zealand chase down Ireland's 300.

Michael Bracewell hit ten fours and seven sixes.

One a day Suryakumar Yadav single-handedly pulled off one of the greatest chases in cricket history in Nottingham, well almost, Ireland scripted one of the biggest shocks, well almost, again, in Dublin against New Zealand. Somehow, New Zealand survived the epic clash for a one-wicket win while India lost by 17 runs on a day of fascinating cricket.

Asked to bat first by the Kiwi stand-in skipper Tom Latham at The Village, Ireland rode Harry Tector's 113 to post 300/9 in the first ODI. The Kiwis were 83/4 in the 16th over, then it became 217/8 in 43rd over. But there was a certain Michael Bracewell.

The 31-year-old from Wairarapa remained unperturbed and hit an unbeaten 127 off 82 balls, including a series of 4, 4, 6, 4, 6 in the final over off Craig Young needing 20 runs off the final over. Not so far away in England, the equation was 21 in the last over but India were without a 'Skye' to complete the "boat song".

Somehow, New Zealand survived the epic clash for a one-wicket win.

The second ODI of the three-match series at the same venue is scheduled for Tuesday (July 12). The third ODI is on Friday (July 15). The teams will travel to Belfast for a three-match T20I series, starting July 18. The tour ends on July 22 with the third and final T20I.

Latham was leading the new-look New Zealand side in place of regular skipper Kane Williamson, who was rested alongside Devon Conway, Tim Southee and Trent Boult. As a result, Glenn Phillips and Finn Allen were handed their maiden ODI caps for New Zealand.

The Kiwis also missed Adam Milne and Mitchell Santner. Milne is recovering from a tight Achilles injury and Santner was out due to COVID-19.

The ODIs are a part of ICC World Cup Super League. Ireland are coming into this series after losing the two-match T20 series against India last month. Meanwhile, Ireland’s George Dockrell is playing his 100th ODI.

The IRE vs NZ ODI series can be seen in India. FanCode app will live stream the Ireland vs New Zealand ODI series in India.

Playing XIs

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Finn Allen, Will Young, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Henry Nicholls, Matt Henry, Michael Bracewell, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Lockie Ferguson

Ireland: Andrew Balbirnie(c), Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, George Dockrell, Lorcan Tucker(w), Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Curtis Campher, Craig Young, Andy McBrine, Joshua Little