Netherlands Vs South Africa, ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Match 16 Preview: Can Proteas Overcome Dutch Scars This Time?

Both teams enter this game with victories in their T20 World Cup 2024 openers. South Africa defeated Sri Lanka, despite a somewhat labored batting performance, while the Netherlands triumphed over Nepal by six wickets

netherlands cricket team in warm-up match against sri lanka X @KNCBcricket
Netherlands national cricket team players during the warm-up game against Sri Lanka in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Photo: X/ @KNCBcricket

South Africa might have trotted past Sri Lanka in their first match, but they have a tricky opponent in Netherlands in their second group D match in New York on Saturday. (More Cricket News)

The scars from their 38-run loss against the Dutch in last year's 50-over World Cup might still be fresh in the minds of the Proteas.

The Aiden Markram-led side would certainly want a reversal this time around. The most encouraging signal from their win over Sri Lanka was the form of Anrich Nortje.

The pacer, who was a shadow of his intimidating self in the IPL, seemed to have regained his rhythm on a spicy New York pitch while grabbing four wickets against the Islanders.

Along with Kagiso Rabada, Nortje forms a strong combination upfront, and SA will require them in full flight against Netherlands, who started with a six-wicket win over Nepal.

They also ticked a few boxes in that match as frontline batter Max O’Dowd made a fifty while leading pacers Tim Pringle and Logan van Beek took three wickets apiece.

The Dutch side will be hoping for another clinical outing from their top players to bruise their fancied opponent once more.


South Africa: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Netherlands: Scott Edwards (c), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Ryan Klein, Saqib Zulfiqar, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma, Wesley Barresi. Travelling reserve: Ryan Klein.

Match starts at 8:00pm IST.