Elections 2022: How Political Bigwigs Fared Across 5 States

While UP's CM Adityanath is leading and Goa's CM Sawant and Manipur's CM N Biren Singh won, Punjab's chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi, former CM Amarinder Singh, Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu were among high-profile leaders who lost.

Representative image

Fates of several political heavyweights are on the line in the five states where votes are being counted today for the recently-concluded assembly elections. Here is a list of such leaders and the status of their performance so far. 

Uttar Pradesh 

Yogi Adityanath won Gorakhpur Urban assembly seat by a huge margin of over one lakh votes against his nearest rival from Samajwadi Party.

Keshav Prasad Maurya, loses poll battle to SP's Pallavi Patel by 7,337 votes from Sirathu Assembly constituency

Akhilesh Yadav, won Karhal seat with a margin of over 67,000 votes.

Azam Khan, won Rampur constituency seat securing 102100 votes, beating BJP candidate Shiv Bahadur Saxena by a margin of 46842 votes.

Abdullah Azam,has won the Suar assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh with 1,26,162 votes. 


Charanjit Singh Channi, Punjab's Chief Minister, was defeated on both Bhadaur and Chamkaur Sahib seats by Aam Aadmi Party candidates. 

AAP's Labh Singh Ugoke defeated him in Bhadaur seat by a margin of 37,558 votes. In Chamkaur Sahib seat, AAP's Charanjit Singh defeated him by a margin of 7,942 votes.

Amarinder Singh, two-time former chief minister, lost from his home turf Patiala Urban seat by a margin of 19,873 votes. Singh was defeated by Aam Aadmi Party candidate Ajit Pal Singh Kohli.

Navjot Singh Sidhu, Punjab Congress chief, was defeated from Amritsar East seat by AAP candidate Jeevanjyot Kaur by a margin of 6,750 votes.

Bhagwant Mann, AAP's Punjab CM face, won from Dhuri assembly seat. Mann defeated Congress candidate and sitting MLA Dalvir Singh Goldy by a margin of 58,206 votes.

Parkash Singh Badal, the patriarch of the Shiromani Akali Dal and former chief minister of Punjab, was defeated by Aam Aadmi Party's Gurmeet Singh Khudian from his traditional Lambi seat in Muktsar district by a margin of 11,396 votes.

Ashwani Sharma, Punjab BJP chief, won from the Pathankot assembly seat. Sharma defeated Congress candidate and sitting MLA Amit Vij by a margin of 7,759 votes.


Pushkar Singh Dhami, Uttarakhand’s Chief Minister, lost his seat of Khatima by a margin of about 6,500 votes.

Harish Rawat, senior Congress leader and former chief minister, conceded defeat from his seat of Lalkuan.


Pramod Sawant, Goa’s Chief Minister, won the election from his traditional Sanquelim Assembly constituency. After trailing in the initial rounds, Sawant managed to retain the Sanquelim seat by a margin of around 1,000 votes. 

Utpal Parrikar, Independent candidate and son of Goa's former chief minister Manohar Parrikar, lost to BJP's Atanasio Monserratte from the Panaji Assembly seat by 674 votes.

Manohar Ajgaonkar and Chandrakant Kavlekar, both deputy chief ministers in the BJP government, lost elections.

Ajgaonkar was defeated by Leader of Opposition and Congress candidate Digambar Kamat by a huge margin of almost 6,000 votes in the Margao Assembly constituency. Kavlekar lost to Congress candidate Altone D'Costa in Quepem by a margin of more than 3,000 votes.


N Biren Singh, Chief Minister of Manipur, defeated his nearest rival from the Congress party P Saratchandra Singh by 18,271 votes in Heingang seat.

Okram Ibobi Singh, senior Congress leader and former Manipur chief minister, defeated nearest BJP rival L Basanta Singh by 2,543 votes in Thoubal seat.

With PTI inputs