Mizoram Assembly Election 2023: Top 5 Candidates And Their Constituencies

Mizoram Assembly Election 2023 Constituencies: Find the political pulse of Mizoram constituencies with Outlook India in-depth coverage. Find key update into candidates, electoral dynamics, and the latest update on Mizoram assembly elections.

Voting for Mizoram polls

Mizoram, one of the five states that went to the polls this month, is awaiting the election results as the counting of votes for the 40 assembly seats is scheduled for December 3. 

The state witnessed a voter turnout of 78.40 per cent during the single-phase election held on November 7.

A total of 174 candidates, including 18 women, contested in the Mizoram Assembly Election 2023. The electoral landscape in the state primarily revolves around a four-party contest. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the opposition Congress, and the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) are the key players, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seeks to emerge as a potential 'powerbroker'.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the main opposition party Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and the Congress have fielded 40 candidates each. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are contesting in 23 and four seats, respectively, PTI reported.

In the last elections in 2018, MNF secured 26 of the 40-member assembly seats, while ZPM obtained eight seats. The Congress won five seats, and the BJP managed to secure just one seat.

Top Five Candidates And Their Constituencies:

1. Zoramthanga, MNF - Aizawl East-I:

Zoramthanga, representing the Mizo National Front (MNF), stands out as one of the most prominent figures in the Mizoram Assembly Election 2023. He contested from the Aizawl East-I constituency. Not only is he a key contender in the electoral arena, but he also holds the position of MNF party president.

Zoramthanga has been serving as the fifth Chief Minister of Mizoram since 2018. Prior to this, he had led the state as Chief Minister for two terms, from 1998 to 2008. 

In the Aizawl East-I constituency, Zoramthanga faces competition from Congress candidate Lalsanglura Ralte and Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) vice-president Lalthansanga. In the previous election held in 2018, Zoramthanga secured victory with 42.9 per cent of the votes, surpassing independent candidate K Sapdanga (30 per cent) and Congress' K Vanlalrawna (24.5 per cent).

2. Lalsawta, Congress - Aizawl West-III:

Another key candidate in the Mizoram Assembly Election 2023 is Lalsawta, the state Congress chief, who is vying for victory in the Aizawl West-III constituency. In this electoral battle, Lalsawta faces competition from Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) candidate VL Zaithanzama and Mizo National Front (MNF) candidate K Sawmvela.

Lalsawta, aged 71, brings substantial political experience to the forefront, having previously served as the finance minister of Mizoram until 2018. His political journey includes successful state election victories in 2008 and 2013 from Aizawl East-II.

However, in the 2018 election, he faced a setback, losing the seat to MNF's Robert Romawia Royte. The MNF emerged victorious with 41.4 percent of the votes, while Lalsawta secured 26.9 per cent. Heading a party that won just five seats back then, the 71-year-old politician has a big task at hand.

3. Lalduhoma, ZPM - Serchhip:

A prominent figure in the Mizoram Assembly Election 2023 is Lalduhoma, the founder of Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), who contested from the Serchhip constituency. In this electoral contest, he faces opposition from Congress' R Vanlaltluanga and Mizo National Front's (MNF) debutant candidate J Malsawmzual Vanchhawng.

Lalduhoma's political journey took a turn in 2018 when he secured victory in the Aizawl West-1 constituency. However, for the current election, he has chosen to represent Serchhip. He is a former IPS officer who was also part of the security of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.


4. Vanlalhmuaka, BJP - Dampa:

Vanlalhmuaka, the Mizoram president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), contested in the recent election from Dampa constituency. Dampa constituency held key significance for the saffron party as it was the only seat it secured in 2018.

Vanlalhmuaka contested against Mizo National Front's (MNF) Lalrintluanga Sailo, Congress' Lalhmingthanga Sailo, and Zoram People's Movement's (ZPM) Vanlalsailova.

5. Tawnluia, MNF - Tuichang:

Tawnluia, the Mizoram deputy chief minister and MNF vice president, contested in the recent election from the Tuichang constituency. Aged 80, he held the distinction of being the oldest candidate in the fray. Tawnluia contested against Zoram People's Movement's (ZPM) W Chhuanawma.

Important: We are happy to announce that we have successfully completed the migration of our site to enhance your experience as valuable user. But due to the scale of operations some data discrepancies may arise. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience and understanding during this period.