Assembly Election Results 2023 Highlights - 5 Points

BJP heads for Big win in MP, set to snatch Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh from Congress, while Congress seems set to take power from BRS in Telangana.

Assembly polls results: BJP celebrates in MP

Assembly Election Results 2023 Highlight: Vote counting is currently underway in the aftermath of last month's state assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh Telangana, and Mizoram. As of Sunday morning, results have begun to trickle in from Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and southern state of Telangana while Mizoram's outcomes are expected to be revealed on Monday. 

These elections, also called semi finals, are crucial for the Congress and the BJP as the results will set the tone for the Lok Sabha elections next year. 

The exit polls predicted that the Congress may win in Telangana and Chhattisgarh, while the BJP may win in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. However, so far, BJP is moving towards a win in 3 states — Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan, while the Congress seems set to take power from BRS in Telangana.

Final results are expected by the end of the day. Here are Assembly Election 5 key insights regarding these five states: 

1. Madhya Pradesh: 

The Madhya Pradesh legislative assembly elections, held on November 17, witnessed a contest for 230 legislative assembly seats. Presently, BJP  has crossed the 160-mark out, while congress trails with 63 seats. 

Currently under a BJP-led government with Shivraj Singh Chauhan as the Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh appears to be on the cusp of a decisive victory in the assembly elections, paving the way for the BJP to form the state government again for the next five years.

2. Rajasthan: 

The Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2023, conducted on November 25, witnessed a contest for 200 legislative assembly seats. However, the counting of votes will be for 199 seats, due to the death of the Congress candidate Gurmeet Singh Koonar in Sriganganagar's Karanpur seat.

At present, The BJP has secured 116 seats, while the INC and its alliance lags behind at 69. The state is governed by the Indian National Congress currently, with Ashok Gehlot serving as the Chief Minister. However, the current voting results indicate a significant advantage for the BJP, positioning the party to form the new government in Rajasthan.

3. Chhattisgarh:

The Chhattisgarh assembly elections, conducted in two phases on November 7 and November 17, comprised a total of 90 Assembly constituencies. Contrary to the predictions of most opinion polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has unexpectedly secured 57 seats, while the Indian National Congress trails with 33 seats.

Currently, the state is under the governance of the Indian National Congress, with Bhupesh Baghel serving as the Chief Minister. However, the voting results indicate a significant shift, with the BJP anticipated to form a new government in Chhattisgarh. 

4. Telangana:

On November 30, Telangana witnessed voting across its 119 constituencies. Presently, the Congress and its alliance hold 64 seats, while the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) stands at 40, and the BJP and its alliance at 9. 

The current ruling party in Telangana is the Bharat Rashtra Samithi, with K Chandrashekar Rao as the Chief Minister. However, the current voting results suggest a transition, with the Congress likely to form the next government in Telangana.

5. Mizoram: 

Mizoram voted on November 7 to choose representatives for 40 constituencies. Originally set for December 3, the vote counting date was shifted to December 4 due to protests by the Mizoram NGO Coordination Committee (NGOCC). The group objected to counting on December 3, a Sunday, considered a sacred day by Christians. 

The electoral landscape in the state primarily revolves around a four-party contest. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the opposition Congress, and the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) are the key players, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seeks to emerge as a potential 'powerbroker'. Exit polls suggest the Mizo National Front (MNF) is likely to retain power in the state.

Important: We are pleased to inform you that the migration of our site has been successfully completed, aimed at enhancing your user experience. However, please be advised that due to the scale of operations, some data discrepancies may occur. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and greatly appreciate your patience and understanding during this transition period. Rest assured, we are committed to sorting out any data discrepancies.