Maharashtra Crisis: Shiv Sena Seeks Disqualification Of 16 MLAs, Threatens To Strip Rebels Of Ministries

Shiv Sena had previously given names of 12 MLAs to the deputy speaker, including leader of the rebel camp Eknath Shinde, seeking their disqualification. Four more name got added to the list yesterday.

Maharashtra minister Eknath Shide

The Shiv Sena is seeking disqualification of rebel MLAs and has also threatened that Maharashtra ministers in rebel Eknath Shinde's camp would lose their portfolios in "24 hours". 

Talking to a  Marathi news channel on Saturday evening, senior Sena leader Sanjay Raut said "the process of their removal is on" .

He said, "Ministers like Gulabrao Patil, Dada Bhuse, Sandipan Bhumre were considered to be loyal Shiv Sena workers who were made cabinet ministers by Uddhav Thackeray. The party has given them enough. They have taken the wrong path and will lose their posts in 24 hours."

Earlier on Saturday, the Shiv Sena's national executive authorised Sena president and Maharashtra Chief Minister  Uddhav Thackeray to take action against the rebel MLAs led by Shinde, a senior cabinet minister.

Prior to that, the Sena sent names of four more rebel MLAs to the Maharashtra Assembly deputy speaker for initiating action of disqualification against them. Sena MP Arvind Samant on Friday said the party will also issue notices to 16 MLAs of the Shinde's faction and ask them to respond by Monday.

The four legislators whose names were forwarded to the deputy speaker were Sanjay Raymulkar, Chiman Patil, Ramesh Bornare and Balaji Kalyankar, he said.

“Despite issuing a letter to them, none of them attended party meeting on Wednesday evening here in Mumbai," Sawant said.

The party has already given names of 12 MLAs to the deputy speaker including leader of the rebel camp Eknath Shinde, seeking their disqualification.

Responding to it, minister Eknath Shinde said in tweets, "There are several Supreme Court decisions in this regard. Who are you trying to frighten? We understand your games and law as well. You can't ask for action against 12 of our MLAs because we are loyal to Balasaheb Thackeray and are the real Shiv Sena and Shiv Sainiks. In fact, we demand action against you for forming a group despite having no numbers."

“Now, only chief minister Uddhav Thackeray can decide about allowing their return to Sena, otherwise party doors are closed for them forever. They have betrayed the saffron flag," Sawant said. 

Important: We are happy to announce that we have successfully completed the migration of our site to enhance your experience as valuable user. But due to the scale of operations some data discrepancies may arise. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience and understanding during this period.