Hardik Pandya To Miss IPL 2024? Social Media Reacts To Reports Of New Mumbai Indians Captain's Injury

News of Hardik Pandya's aggravated injury filtered onto the internet on December 23, Saturday, with reports claiming that the new Mumbai Indians captain is a doubt for IPL 2024. Here's how social media reacted to it

Hardik Pandya in Mumbai Indians colours.

New Mumbai Indians captain Hardik Pandya could miss Indian Premier League 2024 in its entirety, with the India national cricket team star still recovering from an injury he suffered in the bygone ICC Cricket World Cup. Pandya injured his ankle while facing Bangladesh in Pune in the league stage and did not feature in the competition again. (Cricket News)

Owing to his injury, Pandya missed India's bilateral T20 International series with Australia and was kept out of the squad for India's Tour of South Africa 2023-24. If the report of his aggravated injury is true, Pandya will also miss India's series with Afghanistan and England. 

Mumbai Indians, who lost Pandya to Gujarat Titans two years earlier after releasing him for the mega auction, reclaimed the Indian all-rounder in a pre-auction draft move. Days after returning to his former team, Pandya was elected as the new captain in a rather surprising move, with stalwart Rohit Sharma pushed to the side. 

Here's how social media reacted to the news: 

— Keh Ke Peheno (@coolfunnytshirt) December 23, 2023

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Full List Of Retained Players By MI:

Rohit Sharma (c), Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Jason Behrendorff

Full List Of Released Players By MI:

Mohd. Arshad Khan, Ramandeep Singh, Hrithik Shokeen, Raghav Goyal, Jofra Archer, Tristan Stubbs, Duan Jansen, Jhye Richardson, Riley Meredith, Chris Jordan, Sandeep Warrier.

Players Traded In: Romario Shepherd, Hardik Pandya

Players Traded Out: Cameron Green

Players Bought In Auction: Gerald Coetzee (Rs. 5 crore), Dilshan Madushanka (Rs. 4.60 crore), Shreyas Gopal (Rs. 20 lakh), Nuwan Thushara (Rs. 4.80 crore), Naman Dhir (Rs. 20 lakh), Anshul Kamboj (Rs. 20 lakh), Mohammad Nabi (Rs. 1.5 crore), Shivalik Sharma (Rs. 20 lakh).