PM Modi Says NDA Stands For New India, Development, Aspirations To 38 Partners

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the National Democratic Alliance leaders in their Delhi meeting on Tuesday assuring that they will win in the upcoming Lok Sabha election in 2024 with more than 50 per cent votes.

PM Narendra Modi addressing NDA meeting in Delhi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi told the 38 partners of the National Democratic Alliance that NDA stands for New India, Development, and Aspirations of the people. He also recalled that the meeting on Tuesday was taking place on the 25th anniversary of the ruling alliance.  

The 38 partners also include small parties that have not yet decided on their representative in their respective state assemblies, to them PM Modi assured that the Bharatiya Janata Party would treat them as equal partners. He spoke about the small parties representing regional aspirations and reportedly said, "It’s a beautiful rainbow… No party is big or small in the NDA. BJP got majority in 2014 and 2019, but the NDA formed the government,” he said.

PM Modi continued to say that pure intent, clear policies and strong decisions make NDA different from the opposition alliance. He also added, "The NDA is committed to the people of India and its ideology is nation first, security of the nation first, progress first, and empowerment of people first."

Speaking about the NDA's efforts as an opposition alliance before coming to power, PM Modi said that they, "exposed scams, but never insulted the people’s mandate, or took foreign assistance in bringing instability in the country, or created hurdles in development”. 

With assurance PM Modi told the 38 partners present in the meeting, “I can tell you with full confidence that the NDA will return to power in 2024, as people know its chemistry and history,” he said. The NDA got 38 per cent votes in 2014 and 45 per cent in 2019 and PM Modi told the partners that they would get 50 per cent in 2024 and, "Your efforts will not go wasted".

“You know the mood of the nation is in NDA’s favour. Global powers also believe the people’s mandate is for our alliance… Usually, foreign countries wait for election results to get into agreements or efforts to improve ties… But India’s case is different. Despite knowing that we are headed for polls, they are inviting NDA representatives and honouring India, because they know that the people have decided to return the NDA to power,” reportedly said PM Modi as he assured to put in all of his effort and time for the development of the country. 

PM Modi during the meeting referred to the presence of Eknath Shinde and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa and said that they are the 'real heirs' of Balasaheb Thackeray and Parkash Singh Badal respectively. Even though Shiromani Akali Dal was not invited to the NDA meeting, Dhindsa decided to join.

Which parties are allied under NDA?

The parties under NDA are - All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, Shiv Sena (Shinde), National People’s Party, Meghalaya, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Nagaland, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, Jannayak Janata Party, All Jharkhand Students’ Union, Republican Party of India, Mizo National Front, Tamil Maanila Congress, Indiya Makkal Kalvi Munnetra Kazhagam of Tamil Nadu, IIndigenous People’s Front of Tripura, Bodo People’s Party, Pattali Makkal Katchi, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, Apna Dal, Asom Gana Parishad, Rashtriya Lok Jan Shakti Party, Nishad Party, United People’s Party Liberal, Assam, All India NR Congress, Puducherry, Jana Sena (Pawan Kalyan), Nationalist Congress Party (Ajit Pawar group), Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas Paswan), Hindustani Awam Morcha, Rashtriya Lok Samata Party, Vikassheel Insaan Party, Mukesh Sahni and Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party, Om Prakash Rajbhar.

PM Modi further spoke about the achievements of the NDA government so far in terms of social justice and women's participation in economic development. They also awarded several leaders irrespective of their parties for their contribution like the late Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee and later Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav and others like Tarun Gogoi, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Muzaffar Baig.

On Tuesday the 26 opposition parties named their alliance as 'INDIA' (Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance) on their second meeting in Bengaluru. Opposition parties like Congress, Shiv Sena (UBT), Trinamool Congress and Janata Dal (United) are part of the alliance.