Rohan Bopanna Wins Australian Open 2024: List Of Indians Who Have Won Grand Slam Title Down Under

Rohan Bopanna is only the fourth Indian tennis player to win a Grand Slam event at the Australian Open


AP Photo
Rohan Bopanna of India holds his trophy after he and partner Matthew Ebden of Australia defeated Simone Bolelli and Andrea Vavassori of Italy in the men's doubles final at the Australian Open 2024 at Melbourne Park, Melbourne on January 27, 2024. AP Photo

Rohan Bopanna capped off his sensational Melbourne run by winning the Australian Open 2024, men's doubles final on Saturday. The Indian tennis legend, who will become the new World No. 1 on Monday, and his Australian partner Matthew Ebden defeated Italian pair Simone Bolelli and Andrea Vavassori at Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne. (More Tennis News

The straight sets win gave the Bopanna-Ebden pair a first Grand Slam title as a team; but for the Indian star, it's his first men's doubles Major crowd. And it came more than seven years after his first title, the 2017 French Open mixed double which he won with Canada's Gabriela Dabrowski.


Bopanna, 43, was competing in his 61st Grand Slam doubles event and Ebden, 36, was his 19th different partner. Bopanna, in the process, became only fourth Indian to win an Australian Open Grand Slam event.

With that here's a look at the list of Indians who have won Grand Slam titles at titles at Australian Open, the traditional season-opening Major:

  1. 2003 - Leander Paes and Martina Navratilova (USA) in mixed doubles;

  2. 2006 - Mahesh Bhupathi and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) in mixed doubles;

  3. 2009 - Mahesh Bhupathi and Sania Mirza in mixed doubles;

  4. 2010 - Leander Paes and Cara Black (Zimbabwe) in mixed doubles;

  5. 2012 - Leander Paes and Radek Stepanek (Czech Republic) in men’s doubles;

  6. 2015 - Leander Paes and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) in mixed doubles;

  7. 2016 - Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) in women’s doubles;

  8. 2024 - Rohan Bopanna and Matthew Ebden (Australia) in men’s doubles.

ALSO READ: Rohan Bopanna, Among Sports Personalities Selected For India's Padma Awards


Leader Paes remains the most successful Indian tennis player with 18 Grand Slam titles. The 1996 Olympic Games bronze medallist has eight men’s doubles and 10 in mixed doubles Majors -- including career Slams in both doubles categories.

Mahesh Bhupathi, the first Indian to win a Grand Slam event, has 12 Major titles -- eight in mixed doubles and four in men’s doubles titles, three of which with Paes.

Sania Mirza has six Grand Slam titles -- three each in women's doubles and mixed doubles. And she remains the only Indian player to win a Major.