Karnataka: BJP To Decide New Opposition Leader In A Meeting Today

The Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka will be deciding the leadership in the state in a meeting on Sunday. The recent poll results reportedly led to internal conflicts and thus the delay in the decision.

B.S. Yediyurappa

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Karnataka will be holding a meeting on Sunday to decide who will be the leader of the party in the state this time. The officials said that it was internal conflicts that resulted in the delay of the decision-making. 

The Karnataka Assembly elections were held in May when the Congress party defeated BJP with a huge majority of 135 seats, which reportedly led to internal disagreements in the party for electing a new leader for the state.

The meeting will be attended by state BJP president Nalin Kumar Kateel, Karnataka in-charge Arun Singh, and central Parliamentary board member BS Yediyurappa.

According to reports, some of the names considered for the leadership role are Basavaraj Bommai, Basangouda Patil Yatnal, Ashwathnarayan, V Sunil Kumar, and R Ashok. Additionally, Shreenivas Pujari, Tejaswini Gowda, and Chaluvadi Narayan Swamy are potential candidates for the Legislative Council, the leaders added.

Keeping the aim to maintain discipline in the party, they have identified 11 leaders who have a history of indiscipline and plans to take up the issue during the meeting today. 

Senior leaders of BJP including Yediyurappa, Bommai, Kateel, Pralhad Joshi, and CT Ravi, met with six such leaders with disciplinary issues, reportedly. According to reports, an insider told the media, “The 11 leaders singled out by the party for indiscipline and controversial remarks are MP Renukacharya, Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, Murugesh Nirani, Prabhu Chauhan, Pratap Simha, Ramesh Jigajinagi, Dasarahalli Muniraju, AS Nadahalli, Charanthi Math, Thammesh Gowda, and Ishwar Singh Thakur."

They also said, “While show-cause notices were issued to the leaders, the party later changed its stance after some assured the leadership that they would work towards resolving the issues and improving the party’s unity."

Member of Parliament from Mysuru, Pratap Simha told the media last month that some BJP leaders were colluding with Congress leaders calling it 'adjustment politics'.

According to reports, BJP served notice to former MLA M P Renukacharya for his 'anti-party' remarks on Saturday who said that he would not be intimidated by it and would write a letter to the national leadership to reveal who is responsible for the loss of the party in Karnataka assembly elections. He also reportedly suggested that the party’s state president Nalin Kumar Kateel should resign by taking moral responsibility for the loss.