Nagaland: NDPP Candidate Wangpang Konyak Wins In Tapi Assembly Bypoll

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of NDPP MLA Noke Wangnao on August 28. The electoral contest featured the ruling NDPP candidate, Wangpang Konyak, and Congress nominee Wanglem Konyak.

National Democratic Progressive Party symbol

Wangpang Konyak of the ruling National Democratic Progressive Party emerged triumphant in the by-poll for the Tapi assembly seat in Nagaland's Mon district on Sunday, officials confirmed.

Defeating Congress candidate Wanglem Konyak by a substantial margin of 5,333 votes, Wangpang Konyak secured 10,053 votes for the NDPP, while the Congress candidate garnered 4,720 votes, marking a significant win for the ruling party.

The by-poll, held on November 7, witnessed an impressive voter turnout of 96.25 percent. With only two candidates in the fray, Wangpang Konyak, the NDPP nominee, was the joint candidate of the People's Democratic Alliance.

The by-poll was necessitated following the untimely death of NDPP MLA Noke Wangnao on August 28. Having served as the MLA of the constituency for the last 10 terms, Wangnao's passing led to the vacancy.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, the leader of the NDPP, extended his heartfelt congratulations to Wangpang Konyak, expressing best wishes for his service to constituents and the people of Nagaland. "I also congratulate the Party workers and well-wishers," he posted on social media platform X.

Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton of the BJP also conveyed congratulations to Wangpang Konyak and the ally NDPP for the resounding victory. "This win demonstrates the people's faith in our alliance and the visionary leadership of CM Rio. This emphatic win has shown that the NDPP-BJP alliance truly represents the hopes and aspirations of the Naga people," he stated.

In the 60-member assembly, the NDPP commands 25 members, the BJP has 12, NCP has seven, and the NPP has five MLAs. LJP (Ram Vilas), Naga People's Front (NPF), and RPI (Athawale) have two MLAs each, while the JD(U) has one member, and there are four Independents. All legislators are supporting the NDPP-BJP alliance, ensuring an opposition-less government in the state for a third term.

Important: We are pleased to inform you that the migration of our site has been successfully completed, aimed at enhancing your user experience. However, please be advised that due to the scale of operations, some data discrepancies may occur. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and greatly appreciate your patience and understanding during this transition period. Rest assured, we are committed to sorting out any data discrepancies.