What Happens If Asia Cup 2023 Final Between India And Sri Lanka Is Washed Out

The Asia Cup 2023 final between India and Sri Lanka is currently played at Colombo

Asia Cup 2023 final between India and Sri Lanka was affected by rain

The Asia Cup 2023 saw a lot of games played in Sri Lanka being affected by rains. As India and the Lankans meet in the final, the weather could yet again play a pivotal part in fuelling the outcome of the game. (More Cricket News)

The toss took place on time on Sunday at Colombo but the match did not start as per the regular time. Rains intervened and the entire ground had to be covered by the groundstaff.

So, if the the Asia Cup 2023 final between India and Sri Lanka is a washout, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) have kept a reserve day for the final (Sept 18) on Monday.

This will be second instance wherein a match will get a reserve day with the previous instance being the India vs Paksitan Super 4 tie.

Earlier, Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and elected to bat first. Sri Lanka have made one forced change with the injured Maheesh Theekshana being replaced by Dushan Hemantha.

"Would have batted first too, looks like a dry pitch. We are confident of chasing down whatever Sri Lanka put on the board. This is a good chance to go aggressive with the ball and see what the surface has to offer. We came really close last game, anything about 240 on this surface is good. Our job today is to do well with the ball, and then see what we can do with the bat," Rohit Sharma said at the toss.

"The crowd have been brilliant, good support for both teams but probably a bit more for Sri Lanka. Hopefully, they get to witness a good final. Everyone's back after the rest in the last game, Axar is injured so Washington Sundar comes in for him," he added when asked about the team composition.

Here are the playing XIs for both the teams:

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul(w), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis(w), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka(c), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana