Home »  Website »  National »  The Coalition Era

The Coalition Era

The Congress, which contested 16 seats, failed to get a simple majority on its own as it won 10 seats out of a total 30, but will rule as the head of the DMK with a total of 20 seats.

The Coalition Era

The Union Territory of Pondicherry will return to the coalition era after a gap of six years with the Congress led Democratic Progressive Alliance (DPA) winning 20 seats in the 30-member Assembly which went to polls on May 8.

The Congress, which contested 16 seats, failed to get a simple majority on its own as it won 10 seats while its allies DMK emerged victorious in seven, PMK two and the CPI one.

Chief Minister N Rangasamy won his Thattanchavadi seat with a lead of over 28,000 votes.

The AIADMK won three seats and its partners PMC, formed by expelled Congress leader P Kannan, three and MDMK one.

Independents -- Congress rebel A Elumalai (Oussudu), DMK rebel A Marmimuthu (Nedungadu) and J Narayanasamy (Villenour) -- bagged the remaining three seats.

The last coalition government in the Union Territory was headed by DMK with TMC and CPI as its partners from 1996 to March, 2000 when the TMC pulled down the Janakiraman ministry.

PMC, which contested 10 seats, received a jolt when its founder Kannan was humbled by DMK's Dr M A S Subramanian in Modeliarpeth.

Other prominent Congress winners are former Chief Minister V Vaithilingam who romped home from Nettapakkam for the sixth consecutive time and Health Minister E Valsaraj, who won the Mahe seat for the fifth time in a row.

Former chief minister R V Janakiraman of DMK was shocked by AIADMK's Om Sakthi Sekar in Nellithope.

AIADMK's Pondicherry unit secretary A Anbalagan and former minister K Lakshminarayanan of PMC were other prominent winners.

AIADMK's other partner DPI, which also contested two seats, drew a blank.

Subscribe to Outlook’s Newsletter

Next Story : Results At A Glance
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner