ICC Women's ODI Cricketer Of The Year 2023: Sri Lankan Chamari Athapaththu Among Four Shortlisted

Sri Lanka's Chamari Athapaththu is joined by Australia's Ashleigh Gardner, New Zealand's Amelia Kerr, and England's Nat Sciver-Brunt on the ICC Women's ODI Cricket of the Year 2023 shortlist

Chamari Athapaththu became the first Sri Lankan cricketer to score 2000 runs in T20Is.

Sri Lanka women's national team captain, Chamari Athapaththu, was among four nominated by the International Cricket Council for the ICC Women's ODI Cricket of the Year 2023 award. Athapaththu enjoyed a remarkable year, impressing with the bat and even claiming one wicket in just eight matches. (IND vs RSA Men's Test As It Happened | Scorecard)

Athapaththu bagged her second nomination within the same year after the 33-year-old was also named among the four nominees for the ICC Women's T20I Cricket of the Year 2023 award - an honour which she will contend for against Sophie Ecclestone (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), and Ellyse Perry (Australia).

For the ODI category, Athapaththu is joined by Australian all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner, who scored 188 runs and claimed 24 wickets in 13 matches. England batter Nat Sciver-Brunt and New Zealand ace Amelia Kerr complete the quartet, courtesy of their sensational performances all year round. 

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023, Nominees and Stats

Ashleigh Gardner, Australia 

188 runs and 24 wickets in 13 innings

Chamari Athapaththu, Sri Lanka

415 runs and one wicket in eight innings

Nat Sciver-Brunt, England

393 runs and two wickets in six innings

Amelia Kerr, New Zealand 

541 runs and three wickets in nine innings

ICC Awards 2023 Nominees

ICC Emerging Men's Cricketer of the Year 2023

Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka), Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)

ICC Emerging Women's Cricketer of the Year 2023

Marufa Akter (Bangladesh), Lauren Bell (England), Darcey Carter (Scotland), Phoebe Litchfield (Australia)

ICC Men's T20I Cricket of the Year 2023

Suryakumar Yadav (India), Sikander Raza (Zimbabwe), Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda), Mark Chapman (New Zealand)

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year 2023

Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia)