November 24, 2020
Home  »  Website  »  National  »  Winter Session Of Parliament Begins, Major Focus On Economy

Winter Session Of Parliament Begins, Major Focus On Economy

This is the second session of the Parliament since PM Modi returned to office for the second successive term.

Google + Linkedin Whatsapp
Follow Outlook India On News
Winter Session Of Parliament Begins, Major Focus On Economy
The Winter Session of Parliament begins from Monday
PTI File
Winter Session Of Parliament Begins, Major Focus On Economy

The Winter Session of the Parliament began on Monday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi calling for open and high-quality debates during the session.

Many key bills, including the Citizenship Bill, are scheduled to be tabled in the Winter Session of the Parliament.

The focus will also remain on the economy as the opposition has in recent months slammed the government for being unable to find measures to revive the economy amid reports of the slowdown.

The Winter Session is scheduled to go on till December 13 and will provide a total of 20 sittings spread over a period of 26 days, including four Private Members' days.

The Citizenship Bill, which the BJP seeks to pass with the aim of granting citizenship to non-Muslims from neighbouring countries like Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan who came to India before December 31, 2014, will be taken up during the proceedings of the House.

Other key bills that are likely to be taken up during the course of the Houses include the Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019, Anti Maritime Piracy Bill 2019 and Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2019 among the 47 items.

Earlier on Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi attended an all-party leaders meeting, where he said that the government will seek to work together will all parties in a constructive manner to take up all pending legislative work.

Union Ministers Amit Shah, Thawarchand Gehlot, V Muraleedharan and Arjun Ram Meghwal attended the meeting, convened by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi for the leaders of all parties in the House.

Opposition leaders such as TDP's Jaydev Galla, Congress' Ghulam Nabi Azad, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Satish Mishra of BSP participated in the meeting.

TMC lawmakers Derek O'Brien and Sudip Bandyopadhyay, LJP lawmaker Chirag Paswan, RPI leader Ramdas Athawale, AIADMK's Navneet Krishnan and Anupriya Patel of Apna Dal (S) were also present in the meeting.

After the all-party leaders meeting, Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu had also met the floor leaders on Sunday.

This will be the second session of the Parliament since Prime Minister Narendra Modi returned to office with a bigger majority for the second successive term.

(With Agency Inputs)

For in-depth, objective and more importantly balanced journalism, Click here to subscribe to Outlook Magazine
Next Story >>
Google + Linkedin Whatsapp

The Latest Issue

Outlook Videos