Tuesday, Jan 25, 2022

SL Vs SA 1st T20: South Africa Win By 28 Runs; Take 1-0 Series Lead – Highlights

Despite Dinesh Chandimal's unbeaten 66, Sri Lanka could only manage 135/6 in reply to South Africa's 163/5. Catch highlights of SL vs SA first T20 international

SL Vs SA 1st T20: South Africa Win By 28 Runs; Take 1-0 Series Lead – Highlights
Aiden Markram's 48 helped South Africa post a competitive total against Sri Lanka in the first T20 international in Colombo in Friday. -

Dinesh Chandimal’s unbeaten 66 went in vain as South Africa defeated Sri Lanka by 28 runs in the first of the three-match T20 International series in Colombo on Friday. Chasing, 164 runs for victory, Sri Lanka never got going as none of the batsmen could really stand in front of the collective South African attack. Chandimal, who opened the innings, fought the lone battle playing 54 balls for his knock hitting five fours and two sixes in the process. Sri Lanka finished at 135/6 in the process. For the Proteas, skipper Keshav Maharaj was most economical with the ball with 1/19 from his four overs. He got able support from Tabraiz Shamsi, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje and Bjorn Fortuin, all taking one wicket apiece. Earlier, Aiden Markram’s 48 helped South Africa to go past the 160-run mark. Comeback man Quinton de Kock (36), Reeza Hendricks (38) and David Miller (26) also contributed with the bat. The second T20 international is on September 12.

Catch highlights of SL vs SA, 1st T20 match here:

Scorecard | News | Report

10:30 PM IST: South Africa win by 28 runs.  

8: 15 PM IST:  Innings Break - South Africa put 163/5 in 20 overs

7:00 PM IST:  Toss - Sri Lanka opt to bat first.  

Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (C), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj (C), Kagiso Rabada, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi


Outlook Newsletters