Friday, Jul 01, 2022

SA Vs IND ODIs: Rohit Sharma Rested, KL Rahul To Lead, Jasprit Bumrah Vice-Captain - Check Full Squad

India's new limited-overs captain Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the three-match ODI series against South Africa due to a hamstring injury. KL Rahul will lead the team.. He is Test vice-captain too.

KL Rahul will lead India in ODIs against South Africa. File Photo

The BCCI on Friday named KL Rahul as the captain of the Indian national cricket team for the upcoming three-match ODI series against South Africa. (More Cricket News)

Rohit Sharma, who replaced Virat Kohli as India's limited overs' skipper, will miss the series due to a hamstring injury.

"Rohit is not fit, he is in rehab. We never wanted to take chance with him,' BCCI chairman of selectors Chetan Sharma said. "We are looking to groom KL Rahul. He has proved his leadership qualities. KL is the best one who can handle the side."

KL Rahul, 29, is already the vice-captain of the Test team and he won the player of the match in the first Test at Centurion.

Rohit is currently undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. Other notable players who have missed the squad are all-rounder Axar Patel and senior pacer Mohammed Shami.

Pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has been named Rahul's deputy.

The Indian selectors have recalled veteran opener, Shikhar Dhawan while young turks, Ruturaj Gaekwad and Venkatesh Iyer have been rewarded for their stellar shows in the domestic circuit.

Squad: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj.

The three series will be played at Paarl and Cape Town on January 19, 21 and 23 respectively.


Must Read