Saturday, Aug 20, 2022

IND Vs ENG, 2nd ODI: Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes Pummel India As England Level Series - Highlights

Jonny Bairstow (124) and Ben Stokes (99) put on 175 runs for the second wicket to script a six-wicket win for England in Pune. Highlights of IND vs ENG 2nd ODI here

Jonny Bairstow helped England beat India by six wickets in second ODI. BCCI

England made a mockery of a 337-run target set by India with Jonny Bairstow and Ben Stokes going on a six-hitting spree to level the three-match ODI series against a stunned hosts at Pune's MCA Stadium on Friday.  England did not throw it away like the opening game and capitalised on a flying start provided by Bairstow (124 off 112) and Jason Roy (55 off 52) to gun down the target in just 43.3 overs with six wickets in hand.  Stokes (99 off 62) played a breathtaking knock and missed out on a deserving hundred after a blazing 175-run stand with Bairstow. After Roy's dismissal, Stokes hit sixes for fun, 10 in total, to make the seemingly daunting task rather comfortable for the visitors. Bairstow, who struck his 11th ODI hundred, too was not far behind with seven sixes and 11 fours.   Earlier, India amassed 336 for six courtesy KL Rahul (108 off 114) and Rishabh Pant (77 off just 40) after England won the toss and opted to field again.   Catch the highlights and updates of the 2nd IND vs END ODI match here:
ScorecardNews | Match Report

1:30 PM IST: Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan to open the innings for India, while Sam Curran has the new ball in hand for England.

1:20 PM IST: India have been forced to make one change of bringing in Rishabh Pant for injured Shreyas Iyer. England have made 3 changes due to two injuries in the first ODI: Dawid Malan comes in for injured Eoin Morgan, Liam Livingstone for injured Sam Billings, while Reece Topley replaces Mark Wood, who has been rested.

1:17 PM IST:  Teams:

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Dawid Malan, Jos Buttler (c & wk), Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley

1:05 PM IST: England have won the toss. Skipper Jos Buttler has decided to bowl first



Must Read