Sunday, May 22, 2022

Ireland Vs South Africa, 1st ODI: Match Called Off Due To Persistent Rain - Highlights

Catch live updates and cricket scores of the first of the three ODIs between Ireland and South Africa, being played in Dublin

Ireland Vs South Africa, 1st ODI: Match Called Off Due To Persistent Rain - Highlights
Captains, Andy Balbirnie (left) of Ireland and Temba Bavuma (right) of South Africa. Ireland have never defeated South Africa in ODIs. Composite: Twitter Screengrabs

There were ominous signs. Cloud, the real cloud, hanging over for hours, then some rain. Somehow, toss happened and Ireland were asked to bat first. They started slowly and cautiously, then reached 195/5 in 40.2 overs despite brief stoppages. That was the moment everything stopped at The Village in Dublin. The Ireland innings was forced to end there to give South Africa a chance to bat. But rain never relented, forcing the match officials to call it off. This three-match ODI series being a part of the ICC World Cup Super League, both the teams will have five points each. Check the latest standings HERE. Seasoned opener William Porterfield (63 off 87) and skipper Andrew Balbirnie (65 off 79) scored fifties for Ireland while Kagiso Rabada got two wickets. Second match is scheduled for Tuesday (July 13) at the same venue. Catch highlights and cricket scores of the first ODI match between Ireland and South Africa here:

Scores | Streaming | News

9:45 PM IST: It's over. Match has been called off.

20:27 PM IST: After much confusion, thanks to intermittent rain, the Ireland innings finally came to an end at 195/4 (40.2).

7:34 PM IST: Rain Reduced Dublin Clash To 43 Overs per Side

3:51 PM IST: No Quinton de Kock and Anrich Nortje for South Africa. Here are the playing XIs - 

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Harry Tector, Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Andy McBrine, Simi Singh, Joshua Little, Craig Young

South Africa: Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Temba Bavuma (c), Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wk), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi.

3:34 PM IST: South Africa won the toss. Will bowl first

2:50 PM IST: Toss delayed due to rain.



Must Read