Monday, Aug 15, 2022

Live Updates | Team Modi 2.0: Amit Shah Gets Home Ministry, Rajnath Singh Is Defence Minister, Finance Goes To Nirmala Sitharaman

Modi, 68, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Ram Nath Kovind at a glittering ceremony at the forecourt of majestic Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Amit Shah will be the new Home minister, and Rajnath Singh the new Defence minister, the Rashtrapati Bhavan announced on Friday.

Nirmala Sitharaman, who was the Defence Minister in previous Modi govt, will now be the Finance Minister.

S. Jaishankar will be the External Affairs Minister.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will retain DoPT, Atomic Energy as well as all important policy issues and portfolios not allocated.

Modi was sworn in on Thursday as prime minister for a second term, helming a 57-member team of ministers, including him and BJP president Amit Shah who makes his debut in the Central government.

Here are the LIVE updates:

3:06 pm: Nirmala Sitharaman takes charge as Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs. 

2:15 pm: Prime Minister Narendra Modi forms Jal Shakti Ministry which would be headed by Gajendra Singh Shekhawat.


1:22pm: Pralhad Joshi will be new Parliamentary Affairs Minister and will also get Coal and Mines.

1:20pm: Harsimrat Kaur Badal remains Food Processing minister, Thawar Chand Gehlot  is Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment

1;19pm: Prime Minister Narendra Modi to retain DoPT, Atomic Energy; all important policy issues and portfolios not allocated.

1:10pm: Ravi Shankar Prasad gets Telecom besides retaining his old portfolios of Law and I-T, Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank to be HRD minister.

1:08pm: Ram Vilas Paswam to remain Consumer Affairs Minister while Agriculture goes to Narendra Singh Tomar who also gets Rural Development. 

1:04pm:  Prakash Javadekar gets Information and Broadcasting as well as Environment.

1:02pm: Nitin Gadkari to retain Ministry of Road Transport and Highways; Dharmedra Pradhan to remain petroleum minister

1:00pm: Smriti Irani will be the new Women and Child Development Minister along with retaining the Textile Ministry; Piyush Goyal has been given the charge of the ministries of Railways and Commerce

12:57 pm: Cabinet portfolios announced. Rajnath Singh new Defence Minister, Amit Shah now Home Minister, Nirmala Sitharaman Finance Minister and S Jaishankar new External Affairs Minister.

12:38 pm: In their bilateral meeting PM of Mauritius Pravind Kumar Jugnauth extended his warm felicitations to PM Modi. PM Modi thanked him and reiterated his commitment to further strengthening the fraternal and enduring bilateral ties between the two countries in all spheres.

12:11 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi meets Prime Minister of Nepal KP Sharma Oli at Hyderabad House.

11:35 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi meets Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Kumar Jugnauth at Hyderabad House.

11:05 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi meets Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena at Hyderabad House. Both the leaders will hold a bilateral meeting. 

9:02 am: The first meeting of the new cabinet to take place in Delhi later today.