Sunday, Nov 27, 2022

WI Vs Sa, 2nd Test, Day 1: Dean Elgar's 77 Take South Africa To 218/5 - Highlights

Catch Day 1 highlights of the second Test match between West Indies Vs South Africa, being played at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia

Captains Dean Elgar, left, of South Afrifca and Kraigg Brathwaite, right, of West Indies at the toss ahead of their first Test at Gros Islet, St Lucia on June 11, 2021. Courtesy: Twitter (@OfficialCSA)

Led-by skipper Dean Elgar South Africa posted 218/5 at stumps on Day of the the second and final Test match on Friday. West Indies pacer Shannon Gabriel took two crucial wickets but by stumps Dean Elgar (77) and wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton  de Kock (59)  kept South Africa on course. De Kock was unbeaten on 59 off 103 balls with five boundaries. Gabriel removed SA opener Aiden Markram (0) in his first over and then took his second wicket of Kyle Verreynne (27) just before the tea break. Brief scores: South Africa: 218 for 5 in in 82 overs (D Elgar 77, K Verryenne 27, Q de Kock 59 batting; S Gabriel 2/47) vs West Indies.

Catch Day 1 highlights of the second Test match between West Indies Vs South Africa:

Scorecard | Cricket News | Day 1 Report

22: 00 PM IST: Lunch! South Africa were 44/3 (25). Captain Dean Elgar and Kyle Verreynne unbeaten on 22 and 1 respectively after the fall of Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen and Rassie van der Dussen to Shannon Gabriel, Jayden Seales and Kemar Roach respectively.

8:17 PM IST: Rain stopped. Players are back.

8:05 PM IST: Rain stopped play. South Africa were 4/1 in 3.3 overs. Shannon Gabriel had Aiden Markram caught by Roston Chase for a duck.

7:31 PM IST: A couple of changes for the Windies, with Shannon Gabriel and Kieran Powell coming in for Rahkeem Cornwall and Nkrumah Bonner. South Africa are unchanged.

Playing XIs

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva (wk), Jason Holder, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Shannon Gabriel

South Africa: Dean Elgar (c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Quinton de Kock (wk), Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi.

7:24 PM IST: West Indies won the toss and field first. But in Southampton, WTC final's Day 1 play has been called off.

7:13 PM IST: Covers off. Toss coming up.

7:00 PM IST: Rain In Gross Islet too. Toss delayed.


Must Read