Saturday, Oct 01, 2022

NED Vs SL, T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka Thrash Netherlands In Final First-round Match - Highlights

After dismissing the Netherlands for 44 in ten overs, Sri Lanka chased down the target in 7.1 overs. Catch highlights of SL vs NED, ICC T20 World Cup match here.

Sri Lankan players celebrate the dismissal of Netherlands' Max O'Dowd, second right, during their ICC T20 World Cup, first round match in Sharjah, UAE, Friday, Oct. 22, 2021. AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi

Former champions Sri Lanka produced their most comprehensive performance yet in the ICC T20 WorldCup 2021 on Friday. In their final first-round match, Sri Lanka first dismissed the Netherlands for 44 in ten overs, then reached the target in 7.1 overs to enter the Super 12 with three wins in three. For the Dutch, it's been a heartbreaking campaign. They lost all three matches in Group A, which also has Namibia and Ireland.  The match lasted 17.1 overs. Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bowl first. Then, Lahiru Kumara and Wanindu Hasaranga took three wickets as only Colin Ackermann (11 off nine) managed to reach double figures for Netherlands. Sri Lanka did lose opener Pathum Nissanka for a duck and Charith Asalanka for 6, but Kusal Perera hit 33 off 24 to ensure an easy chase. Sri Lanka now join Australia, Bangladesh (from Group B of first-round), England, South Africa and West Indies in Group 1 of Super 12. Earlier in the day, Namibia defeated Ireland by eight wickets in the penultimate Group A match to make the tournament proper. Catch highlights and cricket scores of the T20 World Cup 2021, NED vs SL match here.

ReportScorecard | IRE Vs NAM

9:29 PM IST: Result

Avishka Fernando (1 off 3) hits the winning runs, a single to square leg off Fred Klaassen. Kusal Perera returns unbeaten on 33 off 24. And an eight-wicket win for Sri Lanka. SL - 45/2 (7.1); NED - 44 (10).

9:20 PM IST: Two Down

Paul van Meekeren with his second over. A dot then Kusal Perera hits a four. A single, then a skier. Charith Asalanka (6 off 9), caught by Fred Klaassen. Sri Lanka need 14 runs in 87 balls. SL - 31/2 (5.4)

9:11 PM IST: Wasted Review

Fred Klaassen with his second over. Charith Asalanka hits the first ball for a four. Six from the over. Netherlands take a review for a caught behind against Asalanka off the last ball. Nothing. Ball brushing the thigh pad. SL - 21/1 (4)

9:00 PM IST: Glover Strikes

Brandon Glover shares the new ball and he strikes with third ball. Pathum Nissanka (0 off 5), caught by Paul van Meekeren at mid on. Charith Asalanka joins Kusal Perera in the middle. Two runs and a wicket. SL - 8/1 (2)

8:54 PM IST: Chase Begins

Fred Klaassen with the first over. Pathum Nissanka takes the strike. A leg bye off the first, then Kusal Perera hits the second for a four, to third man. Six from the over. Target - 45.

8:32 PM IST: Innings Break

And another one. Three in the over for Lahiru Kumara. Paul van Meekeren is trapped in front. He goes for o off three. No review left and he walks. That's all for the Dutch batting in their final match. All out for 44 in 60 balls. 

Three wickets each for Lahiru Kumara and Wanindu Hasaranga. Maheesh Theekshana took a brace in the lone over he got to bowl. Dushmantha Chameera also got one.  Five LBWs.

8:27 PM IST: Nine Down

This is embarrassing stuff. Lahiru Kumara gets his second in three balls. Brandon Glover (0 off 2), caught behind. Paul van Meekeren is the new man. NED - 44/9 (9.3)

8:25 PM IST: Eight Down

Lahiru Kumara returns for his third over. And he strikes with the first ball. Scott Edwards (8 off 13), LBW. 17 runs and five wickets in the last 30 balls. Brandon Glover joins Fred Klaassen in the middle. NED - 44/8 (9.1)

8:13 PM IST: Seven Down

Third for Wanindu Hasaranga. He traps Pieter Seelaar (2 off 5) in front. 23 runs and six wickets in the last 30 balls. NED - 40/7 (7)

8:10 PM IST: Six Down

Dushmantha Chameera returns for his second over, and he removes Roelof van der Merwe (0 off 3). Caught behind. Sri Lanka take the review. Faintest of nicks. Pieter Seelaar is the new man. He joins four-ball old Scott Edwards in the middle. NED - 37/6 (6)

8:03 PM IST: Five Down

Wanindu Hasaranga again. Bas de Leede (0 off 3) walks. LBW. Two wickets and six runs from the over. NED - 32/5 (5)

8:00 PM IST: Four Down

Wanindu Hasaranga on with his first over. Bas de Leede survives an LBW shout off the first ball, then Colin Ackermann hits the next for a four, to square leg boundary. Another shout for LBW. Sri Lanka take the review. And Ackermann goes for 11 off 9. NED - 31/4 (4.3)

7:51 PM IST: Three Down

Another one for Maheesh Theekshana. Stephan Myburgh (5 off 5), also bowled. Two wickets on three balls. two new batters. Bas de Leede joins Colin Ackermann in the middle. NED - 20/3 (2.5)

7:48 PM IST: Two Down

Maheesh Theekshana on with his first over, and the off-spinner makes a mess of Ben Cooper's wickets. Bowled. Cooper goes for 9 off 8. NED - 19/2 (2.3)

7:40 PM IST: What A Start

Chamika Karunaratne with the new ball. One bye, between bat and wicket. Stephan Myburgh lucky to survive. But his opening partner, Max ODowd not so lucky. Run out off the fourth ball. Ben Cooper is the new man. Myburgh hits the fifth ball for a four, to mid off boundary. Eight from the over.

7:19 PM IST: Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (wk), Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara.

Netherlands: Max ODowd, Stephan Myburgh, Ben Cooper, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Scott Edwards (wk), Ryan ten Doeschate, Pieter Seelaar (c), Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover.

7:14 PM IST: Toss

Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka wins the toss, and he opts to bowl first against the Netherlands.


Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara, Akila Dananjaya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Binura Fernando, Charith Asalanka.

Netherlands: Max ODowd, Stephan Myburgh, Roelof van der Merwe, Colin Ackermann, Scott Edwards (wk), Logan van Beek, Bas de Leede, Ryan ten Doeschate, Pieter Seelaar (c), Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen, Brandon Glover, Philippe Boissevain, Ben Cooper, Paul van Meekeren.



Must Read