Asian Games 2023, September 22, As It Happened: Indian Men's, Women's TT Team Win

Indian men's volleyball team beat Chinese Taipei in their round of 12 knockout match whereas the Men's and Women's Table tennis teams registered wins. Catch the highlights of Asian Games 2023 here.

Indias Manika Batra beats Fijis Carolyn LI in the womens table tennis team event.

It was another busy day for the Indian contingent at the 2023 Asian Games. The women's cricket team qualified for the semi-finals on Thursday, and the men's football team edged out Bangladesh by a solitary goal via captain Sunil Chhetri to keep their qualification hopes alive. India's Balraj Panwar qualified for Final A of the men's singles scull. The Indian men's volleyball team continued its impressive run, advancing to the quarterfinals with a clinical 3-0 win over Chinese Taipei. The Indian men's table tennis team of Sathiyan Gnanasekaran, Achanta Sharath Kamal and Harmeet Desai started its Asian Games campaign positively, defeating Yemen 3-0. Catch the highlights of Asian Games 2023 here. (Full Coverage | Streaming & Schedule | More Sports News)

6:20 pm: Indian Men's Team win
Sathiyan's victory over Pang gives India a 3-1 win over Singapore.

5:16 pm: Women's team match scores

IND vs SGP - Women’s scores
Zeng beats Ayhika 7-11, 11-2, 11-7, 12-10

Manika beats Zhou 11-9, 9-11, 11-7, 11-3

Sreeja beats Xin Ru 12-14, 11-9, 8-11, 11-7

Zeng beats Manika 11-3, 3-11, 12-10, 10-12, 12-10

Ayhika beats Zhou 11-7, 11-8, 9-11, 11-5

4:10 pm: Men’s team match - Sathiyan beats Yong
India's Sathiyan Gnanasekaran has beaten Yong 5-11, 12-10, 11-6, 11-9

4:05 pm: Men's and Women's TT players in action
Manika Batra remains a star attraction as Women's and Men's Table tennis players are in action at Asian Games 2023.

2:33 pm: Sharath Kamal speaks up
Here's what Sharath Kamal had to say about India's win over Yemen

1:37 pm: Men's Volleyball

India take the third set 25-21 to beat Chinese Taipei in straight sets, 3-0. The match lasted one hour and 25 minutes and a difference of ten points (25-22, 25-22, 25-21) was good enough for India. In the quarter-finals on Sunday, India will face Japan who also registered a 3-0 win against Kazakhstan today. The winners will face either China or Indonesia for a place in the gold medal match, scheduled for September 26.

For those who are following cricket, Mohammed Shami struck early against Australia after India won the toss and elected to bowl first in the first ODI in Mohali. Follow live scores and updates HERE.

1:06 pm: Men's Volleyball
Another intense set, but India claim 25-22 to take a 2-0 lead against Chinese Taipei 25-22. Need one more set to win the match.

12:34 pm: Men's Volleyball - Rd of 12
India take the first set against Chinese Taipei 25-22. India won the last three points to claim the keenly fought set that lasted 27 minutes. Second set on, and India raced to 4-1 lead at CXC Gymnasium, Hangzhou.

12:12 pm: Men's Volleyball - Rd of 12
India's round of 12 match against Chinese Taipei in on. The winners will take on either Kazakhstan or Japan in the quarter-finals on Sunday. Earlier, India beat Cambodia then stunned South Korea to win Pool C.

11:19 am: India men blank Yemen 3-0 in TT
Sharath Kamal, G Sathiyan and Harmeet Desai made short work of their Yemenese opponents to notch similar straight game victories. Sathiyan beat Ali Omar Ahmed 11-3, 11-2, 11-6 in 14 minutes, while Sharath, who is playing his last Asian Games, go the better of Ebrahim Abdulhakim Mohamm Gubran 11-3, 11-4, 11-6. Then, India's top-ranked player, Harmeet sealed the tie with an 11-1, 11-1, 11-7 victory over Magd Ahmed Ali Aldhubhani. They team will take on Singapore in the second Pool F match later in the day. The Indian women’s team will also face Singapore (Pool F).

10:58 am: Eabad Slips To Third
Eabad Ali loses a place in Men's Windsurfer RS:X - RS:X Race 4 to register a third-place finish

10:30 am: Harmeet wins the last game!
Although Harmeet was handed the first two games (11-1, 11-1), Magd Ahmed Ali Aldhubhani makes life difficult for the Indian in the potential decider.
However, Harmeet wins the final game, which lasts six minutes, 11-7.

10:10 am: Sharath Makes it 2/2
It takes Achanta Sharath Kamal 17 minutes to defeat Yemen's Ebrahim Abdulhakim Mohamm Gubran. The final score was 11-3, 11-4, 11-6.

10:06 am: Sathiyan Wins, India Leads 1-0
Sathiyan pulls off an easy 11-3, 11-2, 11-6 win over Yemen's Ali Omar Ahmed.

9:40 am: Sathiyan To Start Proceedings In TT Men's Team Prelims
India's Sathiyan Gnanasekaran will go up against Ali Omar Ahmed of Yemen on Table 7 shortly. 

9:10 am: Tatha Fifth in Race 5
Chitresh Tatha improved his rating in Race 5 of Men's Kite - IKA Formula Kite by tagging Mark 1 in sixth place.

8:56 am: Confusion around the OFFICIAL name!!
There is some confusion around the name of the Asian Games because in some places it is the Hangzhou 2022 Asian Games and in others, it is the Asian Games 2023. So, which one is correct? Well, both are fine. Earlier, the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou was scheduled to be played in the year 2022. But because of COVID-19 and other restrictions, the games could not be performed last year and were postponed for one year. So, the Official name is Hangzhou 2022 Asian Games. But saying or referring to Asian Games 2023 is also not incorrect.

8:40 am: Until the action resumes,
We would like to inform our readers that Boxer Lovlina Borgohain and Indian Men's Hockey Captain Harmanpreet Singh will be the joint flagbearers of the Indian Contingent in the opening ceremony of the Hangzhou 2022 Asian Games on Saturday. Lovlina won the bronze medal in the Tokyo Olympics and Harmanpreet Singh is the present captain of the Hockey team which secured Bronze after a long wait in the last Olympics.

8:21 am: STAY TUNED!
Chitresh Tatha will take the start for Team India in the IKA Formula Kite Race in roughly 15 minutes.

8:00 am: Today's Events In Which Indians Will Be Participating


8:05 AM IST ONWARDS - Bonus Round - Mayank Vaibhav Chaphekar (1:30 PM IST)


8:30 AM IST ONWARDS - Men’s Windsurfing - iQFoil-Jerome Kumar Savarimuthu

Men’s Skiff - 49er-KC Ganapathy-Varun Thakkar

Mixed Dinghy - 470-Sudhanshu Shekhar-Preeti Kongara

Boy’s Dinghy - ILCA4- Adhvait Menon

Girl’s Dinghy - ILCA4- Neha Thakur

Men’s Kite - IKA Formula Kite - Chitresh Tatha

Women’s Skiff - 49erFX- Harshita Tomar-Shital Verma

Women’s Single Dinghy - ILCA6-Nethra Kumanan

Mixed Multihull - Nacra 17-Siddeshwar Indar Doiphode-Ramya Saravanan

Men’s Windsurfer - RS - X-Eabad Ali

Men’s Dinghy - ILCA7 -Vishnu Saravanan

Women’s Windsurfer - RS: X-Ishwariya Ganesh



1 PM IST - Semifinals, Men’s single scull (M1X) -Balraj Panwar


9:30 AM IST - Men’s Preliminary - Group F - India vs Yemen

1:30 PM IST - Women’s Preliminary - Group F - India vs Singapore

3:30 PM IST - Men’s Preliminary - Group F - India vs Singapore


12 PM IST - India vs Chinese Taipei