Monday, Aug 15, 2022

SL Vs IND, 3rd ODI: Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa Fifties Help Sri Lanka Beat India - Highlights

Avishka Fernando (76) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (65) guided Sri Lanka to win after bowlers restricted India to 225 all out. Catch highlights of SL vs IND, 3rd ODI here

Sri Lanka's Bhanuka Rajapaksa, left, and Avishka Fernando added 109 runs for the 2nd wicket guiding their team to successful chase in the third one day international match against India in Colombo, Sri Lanka, Friday, July 23, 2021. AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena

Sri Lanka beat India by three wickets in the third and final one-dayer to lose the series 1-2 here on Friday. Chasing 227 for a win under D/L calculations, Sri Lanka reached the target with 48 balls to spare. They reached 227 for 7 in 39 overs.  Opener Avishka Fernando top-scored with 76 while one-down Bhanuka Rajapaksa contributed a 56-ball 65 to help Sri Lanka script the win. For India, Rahul Chahar was the most successful bowler with three wickets for 54 runs.The match was reduced to a 47-over-a-side affair after rain interruption in the first innings. Opting to bat, India were all out for 225 in 43.1 overs. Prithvi Shaw (49), Sanju Samson (46) and Suryakumar Yadav (40) were the notable contributors but none could score big. For Sri Lanka, Akila Dananjaya and Praveen Jayawickrama took three wickets apiece. India have already clinched the three-match series after winning the first two matches.
Brief Scores: India: 225 all out in 43.1 overs (Prithvi Shaw 49, Sanju Samson 46, Suryakumar Yadav 40; Akila Dananjaya 3/44, Praveen Jayawickrama 3/59), Sri Lanka: 227 for 7 in 39 overs (Avishka Fernando 76, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 65; Rahul Chahar 3/54).  Catch the highlights of Sri Lanka vs India, third ODI here.


6:28 PM IST: We are back live with Suryakumar Yadav and Manish Pandey back in the middle. Sri Lanka will be looking for quick wickets

6:19 PM IST: Match to resume at 6:30 PM. The match has been reduced to 47 overs a side.

3:45 PM IST: Watch the Indian team huddle and handing over of five caps HERE.

3:00 PM IST: This is the first time India has won the toss in this series and skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw will start the innings. Sri Lanka are looking for a consolation win and Dushmantha Chameera has the ball in hand for hosts

2:51 PM IST: Here are the Indian debutants with their ODI caps:

2:45 PM IST:  Teams:
Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wk), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhanajaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (c), Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama

India: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan (c), Sanju Samson (wk), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

2:33 PM IST: Shikhar Dhawan has won the toss, Five debutants for India and one change, while three changes for Sri Lanka. Praveen Jayawickrama, Ramesh Mendis and Akila Dananjaya to play for hosts Lanka.

2:30 PM IST: Record five debutants for India; Time for toss

2:28 PM IST: As per reports from Colombo, India, with series in the bag, has handed debut caps to Sanju Samson, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, K Gowtham and Rahul Chahar.


Must Read