Sunday, Aug 14, 2022

BAN Vs NZ, 5th T20: Kiwis Win By 27 Runs, Bangladesh Take Series 3-2 - Highlights

Catch highlights and cricket scores of fifth and final T20 International match between Bangladesh and New Zealand

Bangladesh players pose with the winners' trophy after the fifth and final T20 international in Dhaka. Twitter (BCB)

New Zealand finished the series on a high, defeating Bangladesh by 27 runs in the final T20 International on Friday in Dhaka. Chasing 162 runs to win, none of the Bangladeshi batsmen could do the talking with the bat baring Afif Hossain’s unbeaten 49 as the hosts had to stop at 134/8. Openers Mohammed Naim (23) and Liton Das (10) and skipper Mahmudullah (23) were the only others to hit double digits. For the visitors, spinner Ajaz Patel was the most economical bowler with 2/21 in his full quota of four overs. Scott Kuggeleijn also finished with 2/23 in three overs. Ben Sears, Rachin Ravindra, Cole McConchie and Jacob Duffy, all got a wicket apiece. Earlier, with nothing to lose, New Zealand opener Finn Allen and Ravindra gave the Kiwis a rollicking start racing past 50 in within the powerplay. However, both fell in the same over before skipper tom Latham to over the responsibility with a magnificent half-century to take New Zealand past the 150-run mark. Henry Nicholls also contributed a useful 20 down the order. Bangladesh win the series 3-2.  Catch highlights of BAN vs NZ, 5th T20 match here:

Scorecard | News

7:00 PM IST: New Zeland beat Bangladesh by 27 runs

5:11 PM IST: Innings Break

New Zealand ride on skipper Tom Latham’s unbeaten half-century to post 161/5. Opener Finn Allen also contributed with a fine 41 off 24 balls.

3:00 PM IST: Toss - New Zealand opt to bat.  

Playing XIs 
Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mahmudullah (C), Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham (C), Henry Nicholls, Cole McConchie, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ajaz Patel, Jacob Duffy, Ben Sears


Must Read