Wednesday, Oct 05, 2022

Arvind Kejriwal To Take Oath As Delhi CM On February 16 At Ramlila Maidan

The AAP won the Delhi Assembly elections with a massive mandate, winning 62 of 70 seats.

Arvind Kejriwal with part members after results for Delhi Assembly polls were declared on Tuesday PTI Photo

After a resounding victory in Delhi assembly elections, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will take oath for the third time on February 16.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place at the historic Ramlila Maidan -- similar to that of last two times.

The AAP won the Delhi Assembly elections with a massive mandate, winning 62 of 70 seats. BJP won eight seats while Congress drew a blank.

The BJP marginally improved its tally, managing just eight seats from its 2015's tally of three seats. The Congress, which drew a blank in the previous elections, failed to open its account yet again.

Major AAP candidates, including Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, deputy CM Manish Sisodia and Raghav Chaddha, emerged victorious from their respective constituencies.

Rebel AAP leader Kapil Mishra, who had joined the saffron party, suffered a crushing defeat in Model Town at the hands of AAP's Akhilesh Pati Tripathi.

Sisodia, who was the deputy chief minister in the outgoing AAP-led dispensation and led its education reform efforts, defeated his BJP rival Ravinder Singh Negi by over 3,000 votes, after initial hiccups.

AAP's Okhla candidate Amanatullah Khan had an unassailable lead of 81,000 votes over BJP's Braham Singh.

The city's Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Nagar fall under the Okhla constituency.

Shaheen Bagh has become the epicentre of protest against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act as women with young children have been on a sit-in protest there for nearly two months.

Seelampur, which also witnessed violence during an anti-CAA protest, saw AAP's Abdul Rehman emerging victorious against Kaushal Kumar Mishra of the BJP. Rehman defeated his rival by a margin of 25,000 votes.

Raghav Chadha, who was fielded from the Rajinder Nagar constituency in place of the sitting AAP MLA, also defeated his BJP rival Sardar R P Singh.

As per final results, Atishi, who was fielded from Kalkaji, emerged victorious with a margin of   11,393 votes after initially trailing from the seat. BJP candidate Dharambir Singh has alleged that there was some issue with an EVM and requested for a recount, poll officials said.

Rajendra Pal Gautam, who held the portfolio of social welfare minister in the outgoing Delhi government, defeated BJP ally Lok Jan Shakti Party's Sant Lal.

AAP's S K Bagga won from the Krishna Nagar constituency where he was pitted against BJP's Anil Goyal.

The Tri Nagar and Shalimar Bagh seats also went to Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

AAP's Preeti Tomar won the Tri Nagar seat by 12,000 votes, while Bandana Kumari emerged victorious on the Shalimar Bagh seat by a margin of 800 votes.

AAP's Kuldeep Kumar defeated Raj Kumar of the BJP from the Kondli seat.

Mukesh Kumar Ahlawat of the AAP defeated the BJP's Ram Chander Chawriya from Sultanpur Majra, a reserved seat.

(With agency inputs)