November 26, 2020
Home  »  Website  »  Sports  »  Wisden Almanack 2020: Who Are The Five Cricketers Of The Year?

Wisden Almanack 2020: Who Are The Five Cricketers Of The Year?

England's Ben Stokes and Ellyse Perry of Australia were on Wednesday named the Leading Cricketers of 2019 by Wisden Almanack. Besides the duo, five others were also named as the Five Cricketers of the Year

Google + Linkedin Whatsapp
Follow Outlook India On News
Wisden Almanack 2020: Who Are The Five Cricketers Of The Year?
Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry against India.
File Photo
Wisden Almanack 2020: Who Are The Five Cricketers Of The Year?

Jofra Archer, Pat Cummins, Ellyse Perry, Simon Harmer, and Marnus Labschagne have been named the Wisden Five Cricketers of the Year for 2020 by the Wisden Almanack. (More Cricket News)

Perry, the most recognisable face in women's cricket, is the first overseas woman to win the award. The Aussie star was also named the Leading Woman Cricketer in the World, while England's World Cup and Ashes star, Ben Stokes was named the Leading Cricketer in the World.

Stokes became the first English cricketer after Andrew Flintoff since 2005 to win the award whereas Perry had won the award previously in 2016 and has thus become the first woman to claim the award twice.

Across the 2019 calendar, Stokes hit 821 Test runs at 45, including an Ashes hundred at Lord's, and 719 in ODIs at almost 60.

Perry, on the other hand, raised the bar a notch higher, scoring a century (plus 76 not out) in her only Test, and two more (both unbeaten) in ODIs, where she averaged 73. From six T20 international innings, she was dismissed once, averaging 150. On top of that were 21 one-day wickets at 13 apiece, and six in T20s.

Wisden Almanack's take on the five:

Jofra Archer

"Jofra Archer’s award marks the end of a seismic first year in international cricket, with the Barbados-born quick bowling finishing England’s victorious World Cup campaign, in which he bowled the final-winning super over, as their leading wicket-taker. He then claimed six-wicket hauls in each of England’s wins in their drawn Ashes series with Australia."

Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins finished second in Australia’s wicket-takers charts at the World Cup and was the leading wicket-taker in his country’s first successful Ashes defence in England since 2001.

Marnus Labuschagne

"Marnus Labuschagne also played a key part in that series, making four consecutive half-centuries after becoming Test cricket’s first concussion substitute, and also made 1,114 runs for Glamorgan in the County Championship."

Ellyse Perry

"Ellyse Perry was the star of Australia Women’s Ashes defence, taking 7-22 in the last of three ODIs – the best-ever figures by an Australian in the format – and scoring 187 runs for once out in the only Test match, with a draw ensuring her side retained the urn."

Simon Harmer

"Simon Harmer was the star of Essex’s stellar campaign, in which they became the first side to secure the ‘modern double’ of the County Championship and T20 Blast titles. The former South Africa spinner was Essex’s leading wicket taker in both competitions, taking 83 Championship wickets at 18.28 runs apiece to go with 17 T20 scalps and scoring eight off the last two balls of the final against Worcestershire to secure a heart-stopping triumph."

The five in 2019 were Rory Burns, Tammy Beaumont, Jos Buttler, Virat Kohli, and Sam Curran. India captain Kohli was also named the Leading Cricketer in the World the past three years, while compatriot Smriti Mandhana was the Leading Woman Cricketer in the World in 2018. West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell was named the Leading T20 Cricketer in 2019.

For in-depth, objective and more importantly balanced journalism, Click here to subscribe to Outlook Magazine
Next Story >>
Google + Linkedin Whatsapp

The Latest Issue

Outlook Videos