Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022

T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka Announce 15-man Squad

Sri Lanka begin their campaign on 18 October against Namibia in the First Round qualifier. Group A also has Ireland and the Netherlands.

The squad will be led by Dasun Shanaka. Courtesy: International Cricket Council

Sri Lanka has named a squad made up of a combination of youth and experience for the Twenty20 World Cup to be played next month. (More Cricket News)

The squad features 15 players and an additional four reserves as injury replacements and includes former captain Dinesh Chandimal, current captain Dasun Shanaka and opening batsman Kusal Perera.

In all, six batsmen, five allrounders and four bowlers were included.

The squad:

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana.

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga.


Must Read