Friday, Jan 21, 2022

SL vs IND, 2nd T20: Dhananjaya de Silva Guides Sri Lanka To 4-Wicket Win Over India - Highlights

With this win, Sri Lanka have tied the three-match T20 series 1-1. Catch the highlights of second SL vs IND T20 here.

SL vs IND, 2nd T20: Dhananjaya de Silva Guides Sri Lanka To 4-Wicket Win Over India - Highlights
Sri Lanka defeated India in a low scoring 2nd T20 match to level the series on Wednesday. -

Sri Lanka defeated India by four wickets in the second T20 to level the three-match series 1-1, in Colombo on Wednesday.  Invited to bat, a depleted India scored 132 for five on a sluggish pitch but defended the total against the hosts, who overhailed the target with two balls to spare. Skipper Shikhar Dhawan top-scored for the Indians with his 40-run knock while Sri Lankan off-spinner Akila Dananjaya (2/29) took two of the four wickets that fell. Dhanajaya de Silva made unbeaten 40 while Minod Bhanuka scored 36 in Sri Lanka's reply. Indian leg spinner Kuldeep Yadav took two wickets. The final match of the series will be played on Thursday. The match, which was postponed after India all-rounder Krunal Pandya tested positive for COVID-19, also led to isolation of eight visiting team players who however were found negative after RT-PCR tests.  The depleted Indian side gave debuts to IPL stars-Ruturaj Gaikwad Devdutt Padikkal, Nitish Rana and Chetan Sakariya. The visitors had only five specialists batsmen after both Pandya brothers were ruled out of the series.
Brief Scores: India: 132 for 5 in 20 overs. (S Dhawan 40, D Padikkal 29; A Dananjaya 2/29, D Shanaka 1/14, W Hasaranga 1/30), Sri Lanka: 133 for 6 in 19.4 overs. (M Bhanuka 36, D de Silva 40 not out; K Yadav 2/30)Catch the highlights of Sri Lanka vs India, second T20 here.


8:00 PM IST: Shikhar Dhawan and Ruturaj Gaikwad start for India, while Dushmantha Chameera has the ball in hand for Sri Lanka. Scroll down for live commentary.

7:40 PM IST: Teams:
India: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (wk), Nitish Rana, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy.

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ramesh Mendis, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya.

7:28 PM IST: Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Chetan Sakariya and Nitish Rana have been handed their T20I caps in the team huddle.

7: 18 PM IST: India have only five specialist batsmen available - Shikhar Dhawan, Devdutt Paddikal, Nitish Rana, Ruturaj Gaikwad  and Sanju Samson. Read full details here

7:15 PM IST: Krunal Pandya's positive case has complicated matters for India. Eight players are in isolation so India have inducted net bowlers Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Simarjeet Singh, Arshdeep Singh and R Sai Kishore in the squad.  


Outlook Newsletters