Monday, Jan 17, 2022

ENG Vs SL, 2nd ODI: Sam Curran Five-Wicket Haul Helps England Beat Sri Lanka, Clinch Series - Highlights

Catch highlights and updates of the second ENG vs SL ODI match. England won series 2-0 with a game to spare

ENG Vs SL, 2nd ODI: Sam Curran Five-Wicket Haul Helps England Beat Sri Lanka, Clinch Series - Highlights
England's Sam Curran celebrates taking the wicket of Sri Lanka's Pathum Nissanka during the second one day international cricket match at the Oval cricket ground in London on Thursday, July 1, 2021. -

Sam Curran registered his first five-wicket haul of his white-ball career, while Joe Root remained unbeaten on 68 as England clinched the one-day international series against Sri Lanka with a game to spare at the Oval on Thursday. The hosts ambled to an eight-wicket victory as Joe Root and Eoin Morgan piled on an unbroken stand of 140. The duo helped the hosts chase down a target of 242 with seven overs to spare and make it 2-0 heading to Sunday's finale in Bristol. Curran returned figures of 5-48, including three in his first nine deliveries as the tourists slumped to a woeful 21-4. Dhananjaya De Silva's excellent 91 staved off the threat of outright humiliation as they reached the relative respectability of 241-9 but that was still nowhere near enough to constrain the world champions. Catch highlights and cricket scores of the 2nd ENG vs SL ODI match from the Oval in London:

Scorecard | Match Report | Cricket News

9:20 PM IST: Dhananjaya de Silva led Sri Lanka fightback as the visitors post 241/9 after losing the top four for 21 runs inside seven overs. Sam Curran claimed a fifer, while David Willey took four.

5:10 PM IST: A couple of changes for England. Jason Roy and Tom Curran replace Liam Livingstone and Chris Woakes. And three for Sri Lanka. Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva and Asitha Fernando in for Praveen Jayawickrama, Dhananjaya Lakshan and Ramesh Mendis.

Here are the playing XIs -

England: Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, David Willey, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (c & wk), Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka, Charith Asalanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Asitha Fernando.

5:05 PM IST: England win the toss and opt to bowl first against Sri Lanka.


Outlook Newsletters