Advertisement
X

IND Vs ENG: MCC Declares Akash Deep's Wicket Of Joe Root Legal At Edgbaston - Read Full Statement

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has declared Akash Deep's delivery to dismiss Joe Root as legal, despite some thinking it was a no-ball

Akash Deep is not afraid to attack England with the new ball.

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the England-based law-makers in cricket, have backed Akash Deep's delivery to dismiss Joe Root in the second Test at Edgbaston. The MCC stated that despite the fans and analysts calling it a no-ball, it was well within the rules of the game.

This happened on the fourth day of the 2nd Test. Akash Deep was bowling wide of the crease and the ball angled in, and nipped away to take Root's off stump.

However, replays suggested that Akash Deep's back-foot was touching the 'return crease', the lines that are drawn on either side of the stumps, with some calling it to be an unfair delivery.

However, the third umpire noticed that Akash Deep's backfoot was well within the rules, and that what mattered.

MCC Statement On Akash Deep Delivery

“On Day four of India’s Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball," the MCC said in a statement. “While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law."

“For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot’s position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball," the statement added.

“Clearly, at the point Deep’s foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently – that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery," the MCC clarified.

Advertisement

Akash Deep played a starring role for India as the visitors won the Test by 336 runs to level the series 1-1 going into Lord's.

Show comments
Published At:
US