If the government has its way, pretty soon medicines will also be classified as pure vegetarian. A proposal within the government seeks to replace all capsules using gelatin hard shells with cellulose shells.
Gelatin is obtained from bones of bovines and in India, mostly buffalo bones are used to manufacture it. Though it is totally detoxified and treated, there is a lobby within the government which is pushing the idea that as it is obtained from non-vegetarian sources, it can offend religious sentiments of many patients in India. In contrast, cellulose, the alternative suggested, is obtained from totally ‘vegetarian’ sources.