Tuesday 25 October 2016
25 January 2005 Society National Honours

Padma Awards 2005

J.N Dixit, R. K Laxman, Azim Premji, Irfan Habib, Qurratulain Hyder, Romila Thapar, M.T. Vasudevan Nair, Manna Dey, Mark Tully, Anil Kumble, Gladys Staines, Shah Rukh Khan..... The 96 recipients of this year's Padma awards.
The following is the list of recipients of the Padma awards announced on the eve of the Republic Day celebrations.

Update: January 28. Two of the awardees have refused the Padma awards this year. Romila Thapar and Ka

Romila Thapar refused the Padma Bhushan as she said that she had declined the same award in 1992; she had given the same reasons as she gave this time in her letter to the President: "appreciative of the honour..but regretfully unable to accept it. I decided some years ago that I would only accept awards from academic institutions or those associated with my professonal work, and not accept State awards...purely personal decision and does not reflect on the other recipients of State awards.


Earlier, Assamese journalist Kanaksen Deka refused the Padma Shri on the ground that it would lower the love and affection shown to him by the people of Assam.

Padma Vibhushan:

Left to Right:

1. Bal Krishnan Goyal (medicine) Maharashtra,
2. Bhai Mohan Singh (trade and industry) Delhi,
3. Jyotindra Nath Dixit (posthumous - civil service) Delhi,
4. Karan Singh (public affairs) Delhi,
5. Martanda Varma Sankaran Valiathan (medicine) Delhi,
6. Milon Kumar Banerjee (public affairs) Delhi,
7. Mohan Dharia (social worker) Maharashtra,
8. Pandit Ram Narayan (art) Maharashtra, and
9. Rasipuram Krishnaswami Laxman (art) Maharashtra.

Padma Bhushan:

1. A Ramachandran (art) Delhi,
2. Andre Beteille (literature and education) Delhi,
3. Anil Kohli (medicine) Delhi,
4. Azim Premji (trade and industry) Karnataka,
5. Balraj Puri (literature and education) Jammu and Kashmir,
6. Brijmohan Lall Munjal (trade and industry) Delhi,
7. Chandi Prasad Bhatt (social work) Uttaranchal,
8. G.V. Ramakrishna (civil service) Tamil Nadu.
9. Girish Chandra Saxena (civil service) Delhi,
10. Hari Mohan (medicine) Delhi,
11. Irfan Habib (literature and education), Uttar Pradesh,
12. K. Srinath Reddy (medicine) Delhi,
13. Kiran Majumdar Shaw (science and engineering) Karnataka,
14. M.T. Vasudevan Nair (art) Kerala,
15. Mrinal Miri (journalism) Meghalaya,
16. Mrinal Datta Chaudhuri (trade and industry) Delhi.
17. Narasimhiah Seshagiri (science and engineering) Karnataka,
18. Prabodh Chandra Dey alias Manna Dey (art) Maharashtra,
19. Qurratulain Hyder (literature and education) Uttar Pradesh,
20. Romila Thapar (literature and education) Delhi,
21. S.R. Sankaran (civil services) Andhra Pradesh,
22. Sardar Anjum (literature and education) Haryana.
23. Late Syed Mir Qasim (public affairs) Jammu and Kashmir,
24. T.R. Satish Chandran (civil services) Karnataka,
25. Tarlochan Singh (medicine) Delhi,
26. Valangiman Subramanian Ramamurthy (science and engineering) Delhi,
27. Varaprasad K. Reddy (science and engineering) Andhra Pradesh,
28. Mark Tully (journalism) Britain,
29. Yash Chopra (art) Maharashtra, and
30. Yusuf khwaja Hamied (trade and industry) Maharashtra.

Padma Shri:

1. Amin Kmil (literature and education) Jammu and Kashmir,
2. Amiya Kumar Bagchi (literature and education) West Bengal,
3. Anil Kumble (sports) Karnataka,
4. Banwarilal Chouksev (science and engineering) Madhya Pradesh,
5. Bhagavatula Dattaguru (science and engineering) Karnataka,
6. Bilat Paswan Vihangam (literature and education) Bihar,
7. Chaturbhuj Meher (art) Orissa.
8. Cyrus Soli Poonawalla (trade and industry) Maharashtra,
9. Darchhawna (literature and education) Mizoram,
10. Dipankar Banerjee (science and engineering) Delhi,
11. G. Bakthavathsalam (medicine) Tamil Nadu,
12. Gadul Singh Lama (literature and education) Sikkim,
13. Gambhini Devi Tumlembam (art) Manipur,
14. Ustad Ghulam Sadiq Khan (art) Delhi.
15. Gladys Staines (social work) Australia,
16. Gurbachan Singh Randhawa (sports) Delhi,
17. Hema Bharali (social work) Assam,
18. Indira Jaisingh (public affairs) Delhi.
19.J.M. Hans (medicine) Delhi,
20. Jagtar Singh Grewal (literature and education) Punjab,
21. K.C. Reddy (civil services) Karnataka.
22. Kanaksen Deka (journalism) Assam,
23. Kavita Subramaniam Krishnamurti (art) Karnataka,
24. Guru Kedarnath Sahu (art) Jharkhand.
25.Komala Varadan (art) Delhi,
26.Krishnan Nair Santhakumari Chitra (art) Tamil Nadu,
27. Kumkum Mohanty (art) Orissa,
28. Kunnakudi R.Vaidyanathan (art) Tamil Nadu,
29. Kuntgod Vibhuti Subbanna (art) Karnataka,
30. Lalsawma (social work) Mizoram,
31. Lavu Narendranath (medicine) Andhra Pradesh,
32. Madhu Sudan Kanungo (science and engineering) Uttar Pradesh.
33. Mahadevappa Madappa (science and engineering) Karnataka,
34. Mammen Mathew (journalism) Kerala,
35. Manas Chaudhuri (journalism) Meghalaya,
36. Manuel Santana alias M. Boyer Aguior (art) Goa,
37. Mehrunnisa Parvez (literature and education) Madhya Pradesh,
38. Muzaffar Ali (art) Uttar Pradesh,
39. Nana Chudasama (social work) Maharashtra.
40. P.N. Vasudevan Kurup (medicine) Gujarat,
41. Pullela Gopichand (sports) Andhra Pradesh,
42. Puna Ram Nishad (art) Chhattisgarh,
43. Puran Chand Wadali (art) Punjab,
44. Rachel Thomas (sports) Delhi,
45. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (sports) Rajasthan,
46. Swami Ram Swaroop Sharma (art) Uttar Pradesh,
47. Shah Rukh Khan (art) Maharashtra,
48. Shameem Dec Azad (art) Jammu and Kashmir.
49. Shantaram Balwant Mujumdar (literature and education) Maharashtra,
50. Shobhana Bhartia (journalism) Delhi,
51. Sougaijan Thanil Singh (art) Manipur,
52. Srikumar Banerjee (science and engineering) Maharashtra,
53. Sunita Narain (environment protection) Delhi,
54. Sushil Sahai (social work) Uttar Pradesh,
55. Theilin Phanbuh (social work) Meghalaya.
56. Vasudevan Gnana Gandhi (science and engineering) Kerala, and
57. Veer Singh Mehta (medicine) Delhi.

'Employment To All' SNAFU Station
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store

Post a Comment

You are not logged in, please Log in or Register
  • Daily Mail

More than a decade after India first started the procurement process, it has finally inked an €8bn agreement to buy 36 Rafale fighter jets from France’s Dassault. The original deal was to buy 126 Rafales to replace the accident-prone Russian MiG-21s. Ultimately, the government offered to buy only 36 ready-to-fly planes.

POLL STARTED ON: Sep 26, 2016
Brazil’s Rio de Janeiro is hosting the 31st Olympic Games from August 5 to 21. This is the first Olympics being held in South America and is going on even as a majority Brazilians are unhappy with their rulers. Here’s a quiz on some random Olympic facts and related trivia.
QUIZ STARTED ON: Aug 11, 2016