Philippines' Travel Ban Now Extends to the United States

Philippines' Travel Ban Now Extends to the United States
The US is the latest addition to the list of banned countries, Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Travellers from all US territories, including Puerto Rico and Guam, banned from entering the Philippines until January 15 this year

OT Staff
January 09 , 2021
01 Min Read

The Philippines has added the United States of America to its list of countries on which a temporary travel restriction has been imposed owing to the reported new strain of Covid-19 that was first traced in the United Kingdom. The ban on 21 countries effective until January 15, 2021, may be extended, according to reports.

Besides the US, other countries on the list are Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, the Netherlands, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, and The United Kingdom. 

According to an advisory issued by The Philippines Bureau of Immigration (BI), travelers from all US territories, including Puerto Rico and Guam, will not be permitted to enter the country till January 15, 2021. This also includes individuals of any nationality who travelled to the US within 14 days of arrival in the Philippines. 

US-based individuals who travelled to The Philippines before January 3 (the day the advisory became effective) have asked to check-in for a mandatory two-week-quarantine at a facility. It is only after the completion of this period that they can travel within the country. This move comes after the US detected the presence of the new COVID-19 variant in Florida. 

Filipinos, too, are required to undergo a similar isolation period at a government facility if they have returned from the US, even if they had tested negative earlier. 

If a traveller has a transit-flight through one of the 21 banned countries, they will be allowed to enter The Philippines as long as they haven’t left the country’s airport. “Aliens with connecting flights and merely had a layover in the 21 countries may now be allowed to enter if eligible for entry,” said BI’s Commissioner Jaime Morente. “But if they left the airport or were cleared for arrival in the 21 countries, then they are prohibited from entering the Philippines.” 

The country also added Austria to its list on Friday, according to a latest announcement. The Philippines accounts for the highest coronavirus rates in south-east Asia after Indonesia. 

Related Articles

Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe