Hola, Indian Railways is Running Special Trains for Holi

Hola, Indian Railways is Running Special Trains for Holi
The Holi special trains will help ease the festive rush, Photo Credit: Akella Srinivas Ramalingaswami/Shutterstock

The 16 trains will cater to passengers from West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Madhya Pradesh mainly in order to ease the festive passenger rush

OT Staff
February 26 , 2021
02 Min Read

It was around the same timethe north Indian festival of colours, Holithat the nationwide lockdown to control the spread of the coronavirus was announced. After close to a whole year, travel and outdoor activity are not so much of a terrifying prospect anymore, thanks to better knowledge about its control and the vaccine. In fact, to facilitate those headed home or to their loved ones for Holi (March 29), the Indian Railways recently announced a few special trains. A bulk of these trains, which will begin operations on March 1, will benefit passengers travelling between Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, with the states of Maharashtra, West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, too, covered.

Read: Coming Soon: Revamped Lower Side Berths on Trains


The trains will be weekly, biweekly, triweekly and daily special

Check out the list of the 16 Holi-special trains announced to manage passenger rush during the festival below:

Bhagalpur-Danapur: 03401, Danapur-Bhagalpur: 03402 (both daily)
Bhagalpur-Muzaffarpur Spl: 03419, Muzaffarpur-Bhagalpur Spl: 03420 (both daily)
Kolkata-Udaipur Spl: 02315 (Thursday), Udaipur-Kolkata Spl: 02316 (Monday)
Kolkata-Sitamarhi Spl: 03165 (Saturday), Sitamarhi-Kolkata Spl: 03166 (Sunday)
Asansol-Mumbai CST Spl: 02361 (Sunday), Mumbai CST-Asansol Spl: 02362 (Wednesday)
Howrah-Gaya Spl via Sahibganj: 03023, Gaya-Howrah Spl via Sahibganj: 03024 (both daily)
Howrah-Suri Spl: 03001, Suri-Howrah Spl: 03002 (both daily)
Haldia-Asansol Spl: 03501, Asansol-Haldia Spl: 03502 (except Sundays)
Digha-Asansol: 03505, Asansol-Digha: 03506 (Sunday)
Tatanagar-Asansol Spl: 03511, Asansol-Tatanagar Spl: 03512 (Tuesday, Friday, Sunday)
Bhagalpur-LTT Spl: 02335 (Tuesday, Friday, Saturday), LTT-Bhagalpur Spl: 02336 (Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday)
Asansol-Gorakhpur Spl: 03507 (Friday), Gorakhpur-Asansol Spl: 03508 (Saturday)
Asansol-Gonda Spl: 03509 (Monday), Gonda-Asansol Spl: 03510 (Wednesday)
Digha-Malda Town: 03417, Malda Town-Digha: 03418 (both Thursday)
Malda Town-Patna Spl: 03415 (Wednesday, Friday, Sunday), Patna-Malda Town Spl: 03416 (Thursday, Saturday, Monday)
Malda Town-Surat Spl: 03425 (Saturday), Surat-Malda Town Spl: 03426 (Monday)

Read: Delhi makes COVID-19 Negative Report Mandatory for Travellers from 5 States

Do not forget to check and adhere to applicable COVID-19 travel guidelines and carry a negative RT-PCR test result wherever required.

There are also speculations that the Indian Railways may begin operating all trains from the current 65% of its capacity, from April 1.

Related Articles


Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe