This is the List of Countries Indians Can Now Travel To

This is the List of Countries Indians Can Now Travel To
India now has air bubble pact with 18 countries, Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Air bubble pact with 18 countries to allow Indians to visit nearly 50 international cities

Uttara Gangopadhyay
September 08 , 2021
03 Min Read

Late August, India announced that the ban on regular international passenger flights have been extended till September 30 this year. However, bilateral air bubble pacts with 18 countries will allow special flights with nearly 50 international cities,including in the United Kingdom, Kenya, Bhutan, France, the United States and the United Arab Emirates. So, if you plan to go abroad, check the list of cities through which India has approved the air bubble agreement. These flights can be booked through Air India website, Air India offices and travel agents.

Here's the list of international cities where passengers can travel in September: Canada-Toronto and Vancouver, Bangladesh-Dhaka, Afghanistan-Kabul, Bahrain-Bahrain, Germany-Frankfurt, Japan-Narita, Russia-Moscow, France-Paris, Sri Lanka-Colombo, UK-London and Birmingham, Nepal-Kathmandu, Kenya-Nairobi, Kuwait-Kuwait, UAE-Dubai and Abu Dhabi, USA-Chicago, Washington, Newark, and San Francisco, Maldives-Male and Oman-Muscat.


According to Air India, the schedules for these flights will uploaded in the system for sale till September 30, 2021. However, the schedules are subject to change in accordance with the situation arising from the pandemic situation.

On September 3, India had resumed flights with Bangladesh under the bilateral air bubble pact. Apart from Air India, other domestic airlines are also scheduled to operate on this route.

Also, from September 7, Canada is allowing fully vaccinated travellers (inoculated with Covishield only) from India to enter with several riders. For example, travellers have to make a stopover in a third country and undergo an RT-PCR test before travelling onwards to Canada. The test result has to be obtained 72 hours prior to arrival in Canada. According to travel agents, with cities such as Dubai and Abu Dhabi opening for Indian travellers, air travellers can use them as stopovers.

Kuwait has resumed direct commercial flights with India. But passengers have to adhere to several regulations such as all passengers must be fully vaccinated with any one of the Covid-19 vaccines approved by the World Health Organization (WHO), a negative PCR test result dated 48 hours before departing to UAE, etc.

According to the Embassy of India in Bahrain, Indians are now eligible to enter Bahrain subject to conditions, such as an approved negative PCR test certificate with a QR code and taken within 72 hours before boarding the plane, further PCR tests and quarantine after arrival, etc.


Related Articles


Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe