Air Passengers, These Are The Latest Statewise Covid Rules

Air Passengers, These Are The Latest Statewise  Covid Rules
All the passengers must carry a negative RT-PCR report conducted within 72 hours before arriving in these states, Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Planning air travel amid the second wave of COVID-19? Check out the latest statewise guidelines, rules on testing, and quarantine here

OT Staff
April 15 , 2021
04 Min Read

India is currently experiencing the second wave of COVID-19, and several states have enforced restrictions on movement. 

A few states have made the RT-PCR test mandatory on arrival at airports. Here is the latest list of state-wise rules and restrictions for people choosing to travel by air.


New Delhi: Passengers are advised to check on the airline website and other sources for the latest updates. The Delhi government has made the Aarogya Setu app mandatory along with random testing of passengers at airports arriving from high-risk states. Passengers can exit the airport immediately after sample for RT-PCR have been collected, but will need to quarantine themselves for 7 days. In case their result comes positive, they can continue the home quarantine or move to a hospital.

Uttar Pradesh: Passengers arriving in UP from Maharashtra and Kerala must carry a negative RT-PCR report conducted within 72 hours before arrival. They will also have to undergo a mandatory 14-day home quarantine unless they plan to leave the state within a week of arrival.

READ: Assam Mandates COVID-19 Testing at All Airports

Assam: According to the new notification issued by the health department of Assam, passengers have to undergo a compulsory paid RT-PCR test at all airports on arrival. Passengers can leave the airport after sample collection but will be subject to the condition that they will remain in quarantine till the test results arrive. Expect to be hand-stamped after the RT-PCR test. Flyers landing from Mumbai or Bengaluru have to mandatorily carry a negative RT-PCR report. The test results must be within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey and the test report will be verifiable using a QR code or on the test results portal.

Uttarakhand:  The Uttarakhand government has also made it obligatory to carry a negative RT-PCR report for people travelling to the state from areas reported as risky. People arriving from Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Haryana, UP, Delhi, and Rajasthan travelling by road, air or train to Uttarakhand will have to carry a negative RT-PCR test report done 72 hours prior to arrival in the state.

READ: Travel Restrictions and Pandemic Rules Being Followed Across India: A Checklist

Chandigarh: Passengers will have to register themselves on the COVA Punjab app if they plan on travelling to the Union Territory. They will also have to fill a health declaration form upon arrival and undergo thermal screening.

Rajasthan: The Rajasthan government has issued an order on April 4 making RT-PCR test mandatory for inter-state travel, including people entering the state and for those leaving the state.

Gujarat: A negative RT-PCR report is mandatory for those arriving in the state, says the Gujarat government. People without the report will undergo a COVID-19 test on arrival at the airport and will be seated in a designated area until test results come. Passengers travelling to Surat will have to download the SMC Covid-19 Tracker app and fill an online self-reporting form.

Madhya Pradesh: Madhya Pradesh has asked passengers arriving from Maharashtra to Indore and Bhopal to carry a negative RT-PCR report not earlier than 48 hours. They also stated that the rule does not apply to arrivals from other states or UTs.

Maharashtra: Passengers travelling to Maharashtra from Delhi, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Goa, and Rajasthan have to compulsorily carry a negative RT-PCR report not earlier than 72 hours. Those without the report will have to undergo COVID-19 test at the airport at their own expense.

READ: Check The New COVID-19 Guidelines in Maharashtra

Karnataka: Negative RT-PCR report which is not more than 72 hours old is obligatory for people arriving in Karnataka from Chandigarh, Kerala, Punjab, and Maharashtra.

Andhra Pradesh: People arriving in the state will have to undergo a thermal screening on arrival. They will also need to register themselves on the Spandana website and Aarogya Setu app.

Kerala: Passengers will have to secure an e-pass by registering on the state’s Covid-19 portal before travelling to Kerala. They will also need to download the Aarogya Setu app on their phone. Passengers with COVID-19 symptoms will have to take an RT-PCR test on arrival. For people traveling for business trade, court cases, or medical purposes the above-mentioned rules can be relaxed.

Related Articles


Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe