Sunday, Nov 27, 2022

IPL 2020, CSK Vs MI: Merciless Mumbai Indians Decimate Chennai Super Kings - Highlights

Mumbai Indians defeated clueless Chennai Super Kings by 10 wickets to go top of the IPL 2020. Catch highlights here

MI openers Quinton de Kock and Ishan Kishan meet Josh Hazlewood after beating CSK Courtesy: BCCI

The die has been cast. Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the most consistent team in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL) have effectively been knocked out by their bitter rivals, Mumbai Indians (MI), mercilessly, from the 2020 edition in the UAE. After Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah destroyed CSK's top order in a devastating spell of pace bowling, MI openers Ishan Kishan and Quinton de Kock showed scant respect for bowlers to chase down a target of 115 runs in just 12.2 overs. For the record, this was CSK's biggest defeat by balls remaining. A whopping 46. Yes, MI were without their regular skipper Rohit Sharma. Kieron Pollard led the team in his stead. The result also meant that CSK have now lost eight times this season in 11 outings, and are lying idle at the bottom of the points table with six points. At the opposite end, MI sit on top with 14 points from seven wins in ten matches. Catch highlights here. (Scorecard | Points Table | Results & Schedule)

Brief Scores:

Chennai Super Kings: 114 for 9 in 20 overs (Sam Curran 52; Trent Boult 4/18, Jasprit Bumrah 2/25, Rahul Chahar 2/22).

Mumbai Indians: 116 for no loss in 12.2 overs (Ishan Kishan 68 not out, Quinton de Kock 46 not out).

7:03 PM IST: Mumbai Indians' stand-in skipper Kieron Pollard wins the toss and opts to bowl first. Rohit Sharma is unwell. Saurabh Tiwary replaces Rohit. Three changes for Chennai Super Kings. Kedar Jadhav, Shane Watson, Piyush Chawla out and N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Imran Tahir are in.

7:08 PM IST: Playing XIs - 

Chennai Super Kings: Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood, Imran Tahir

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wk), Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard (c), Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah.

Here's Rohit Sharma update from Mumbai Indians:  "Rohit Sharma has suffered left leg hamstring strain during Mumbai Indians’ last outing. Rohit has made good progress over last four days, while the management is taking one day at a time monitoring the recovery process in consultancy with BCCI."


Must Read