Saturday, May 28, 2022

ENG Vs NZ, 1st Test, Day 1: Debutant Devon Conway Steals The Show As New Zealand Take Honours - Highlights

Catch Day 1 highlights and cricket scores of the 1st Test match between England and New Zealand here

ENG Vs NZ, 1st Test, Day 1: Debutant Devon Conway Steals The Show As New Zealand Take Honours - Highlights
Captains Joe Root of England, left and Kane Williamson of New Zealand pose with the trophy on the eve of the first Test at Lord's, London. Courtesy: Twitter (@BLACKCAPS)

On a day of debutants, Devon Conway trumped Ollie Robinson to help New Zealand take Day 1 honours of the first Test against England at Lord's in London. Playing their first match at the venue after that heartbreaking ODI World Cup defeat in 2019, Kane Williamson won a good toss against rival skipper Joe Root. He promptly opted to bat first, and they ended the day at 246/3 in 86 overs with Conway unbeaten on 136 off 240. Henry Nicholls played a brilliant, unbeaten knock of 46 off 149 to help stitch a 132-run stand which effectively swung the momentum in the visitors' favour. Another debutant, Ollie Robinson claimed the wickets of Tom Latham (23) and Ross Taylor (14) even as England struggled to utilise the home conditions. James Anderson got the prized wicket of Williamson for 13. Root also used Stuart Broad, and Mark Wood too without success. Catch Day 1 highlights and scores of the first England vs New Zealand Test match here:

Scorecard | Day 1 Report | News

11:05 PM IST: Stumps! What a day for Devon Conway. Unbeaten on 136 on debut, and most importantly, his team on the top.

8:16 PM IST: TEA! Debutant Devon Conway was batting on 71 off 131 as New Zealand reached 144/3 in 52. The Kiwis, opting to bat first, lost Tom Latham, Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor, with England debutant Ollie Robinson claiming two.

5:34 PM IST: LUNCH! New Zealand, batting first, reached 85/1 in 25 overs after a solid opening stand from Tom Latham (23) and Devon Conway (43 not out). Latham became the victim of Ollie Robinson. Kane Williamson was unbeaten on 13, in a second-wicket stand of 27 runs from 54 balls.

3:09 PM IST:  Here are the playing XIs

England: Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Joe Root (c), Daniel Lawrence, Ollie Pope, James Bracey (wk), Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, James Anderson

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (w), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner.

3:05 PM IST: New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and have opted to bat.


Must Read