December 02, 2020
Home  »  Website  »  National  »  Lok Sabha Elections: In Bihar Mahagathbandhan, Congress Gets 9, RJD 20

Lok Sabha Elections: In Bihar Mahagathbandhan, Congress Gets 9, RJD 20

For Lok Sabha elections, the opposition Mahagathbandhan in Bihar on Friday announced the seat-sharing formula for the state's 40 Lok Sabha seats.

Google + Linkedin Whatsapp
Follow Outlook India On News
Lok Sabha Elections: In Bihar <em>Mahagathbandhan</em>, Congress Gets 9, RJD 20
RJD leader Manoj Jha announce seat-sharing formula of the opposition Mahagathbandhan in Patna on Friday
Courtesy: Twitter/ANI
Lok Sabha Elections: In Bihar Mahagathbandhan, Congress Gets 9, RJD 20

Announcing its seat-sharing formula for the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, the opposition Mahagathbandhan on Friday said that Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD will contest on 20 parliamentary seats while the Congress has settled with just nine seats in the state.

Former JD(U) president and NDA convener Sharad Yadav will be contesting on an RJD symbol and merge his party Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD) with it after the Lok Sabha polls, RJD national spokesman Manoj Jha and RJD state president Ram Chandra Purve told newsmen.

Recent entrants to the Grand Alliance Upendra Kushwahas Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) and Mukesh Sahnis Vikasheel Insan Party (VIP) will be field their candidates on five and three seats respectively.

Former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhis Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM) has been given three seats.

Leaders of all alliance partners of the Mahagathbandhan, including BPCC president Madan Mohan Jha were present at the press conference.

However top leaders like Tejashwi Yadav (RJD), Upendra Kushwaha, Sharad Yadav and Jitan Ram Manjhi were conspicuous by their absence.

Candidates were also announced for the Lok Sabha seats that go to polls in the first phase, for which filing of nominations will end on March 25 and votes will be cast on April 11.

The seat sharing announcement evoked angry outbursts at Sadaqat Ashram, the Congress headquarters in Bihar as supporters of former Aurangabad MP Nikhil Kumar raised angry slogans in protest against the seat going to HAM.


For in-depth, objective and more importantly balanced journalism, Click here to subscribe to Outlook Magazine
Next Story >>
Google + Linkedin Whatsapp

The Latest Issue

Outlook Videos