Sunday, Sep 25, 2022

Maharashtra Live Updates | CM Uddhav In Action As Ministers Arrive For First Cabinet Meeting

Uddhav Thackeray is the first member of the Thackeray family to become the CM.

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray bows before the people, who attended his swearing-in ceremony in Mumbai's Shivaji Park.

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray was administered the oath of office as the chief minister of Maharashtra on Thursday evening as the Sena-NCP-Congress coalition 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' came to power. 

Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in as CM early morning of November 23 in a manner dubbed controversial by the Sena-NCP-Congress coalition as they were finalising the tri-party alliance to stake claim to form the government. Fadnavis quit as CM on Tuesday hours after NCP's Ajit Pawar, whose support helped him stake claim, resigned. Now, Ajit Pawar is back into NCP fold that supports the alliance and Thackeray has been nominated for CM post. He will be the first member of the Thackeray family to become the Maharashtra CM.

Get all updates here:


8:26 PM: Ministers arrive for the first cabinet meeting after the swearing-in ceremony.

7:44 PM: West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee has congratulated Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray, NCP chief Sharad Pawar and Congress leader Balasaheb Thorat for coming together and forming the government in Maharashtra.

Banerjee said she was looking forward to a "pro-people and stable government" that would work for the all-round development of Maharashtra under their leadership.

7:07 PM: Nitin Raut, the working president of Maharashtra Congress, takes oath as a minister. 

7:03 PM: Balasaheb Thorat, the Congress leader, takes oath as a minister in the Uddhav government. 

7:01 PM: Chhagan Bhujal, the former Shiv Sena leader, who is with the NCP now, is being sworn in a minister in the Uddhav government now.

6:55 PM: Jayant Patil, who has been the finance of the state previously, of the National Congress Party is being sworn in as a minister in the Uddhav government. 

6:52 PM: Beginning of a new era in national politics, says Akhilesh Yadav on "Maha Agadhi Vikas" government in Maharashtra 

6:50 PM: Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai of the Shiv Sena have been sworn in as ministers in the Uddhav government. 

6:45 PM: Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as the chief minister of Maharashtra. 

6:43 PM: Former chief minister of Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis has arrived at Shivaji Park to attend the oath-taking ceremony. 

6:40 PM: Mukesh Ambani, Neeta Ambani and son arrive at the oath ceremony. 

6:35 PM: DMK supremo Stalin, senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel, and NCP MP Supriya Sule have all arrived at the Shivaji Park where a mega ceremony for Uddhav Thackeray has been organised.

6:33 PMMNS Chief Raj Thackeray has arrived at the oath ceremony of CM-designate Uddhav Thackeray and other Maha Vikas Aghadi leaders. 

5:46 PM: Maha Vikas Aghadi stated in their Common Minimum Programme that the alliance government led will have two coordination committees --  one for coordination within the state Cabinet and the other for coordination among the alliance partners.

5:37 PM: Congress president Sonia Gandhi has decided to skip the swearing-in ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray. In a letter to Thackeray, she wished him the very best in life and hoped the new government will fulfil the hopes and aspirations of the people of Maharashtra

4:32 PM: Safety of women top priority, student loans at zero per cent interest rate, says Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde.

4:28 PM: The CMP entails schemes to eliminate economic and social discrimination, says Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde.

4:21 PM: Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP released the common minimum programme ahead of Uddhav Thackeray's oath-taking ceremony.

4:11 PM: Congress leaders Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut will take oath as Ministers today. 

4:09 PM: Preparations are in full swing at Shivaji Park as Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray is set to take oath as Chief Minister here in the evening today.

4:06 PM: NCP leader Ajit Pawar said that six leaders, two each from his party, the Shiv Sena and the Congress, will take oath as ministers today along with Thackeray. Pawar also clarified that he will not take oath as a minister during the ceremony.

3:45 PM: "State Cabinet Ministers will be announced in the coming days. Total six leaders, two from each party, will take oath today," NCP leader Praful Patel said.

10:44 AM: Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi says she has not decided if she will participate in the swearing-in ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray today.

9:40 AM: Elaborate security arrangements have been put in place outside Matoshree, the bungalow of Uddhav Thackeray. Security has also been beefed up outside Sharad Pawar's residence, Silver Oak.

9:30 AM: Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, DMK president and Congress Chief Ministers from all states have been invited for the swearing-in ceremony of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray as Maharashtra Chief Minister.

ANI reported that Delhi CM and AAP leader Kejriwal may miss the event due to personal reasons.

Preparations are in full swing at Shivaji Park as Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray is set to take oath as Chief Minister here in the evening today.