Pramod Sawant sworn in as new Goa CM

Pramod Sawant took oath as the new Chief Minister of Goa at the Raj Bhavan in Panaji tuesday. After hours of hectic negotiations by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leadership with the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and Goa Forward Party (GFP) in the wake of Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar's death on March 17, his name was announced for the position of CM on Monday. He took oath along with 11 other ministers. Sudin Dhavalikar of MGP and Vijai Sardesai of GFP also took oath as cabinet ministers tuesday. MGP's Manohar Ajgaonkar, BJP's Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik and Nilesh Cabral, Goa Forward Party's Vinod Palyekar and Jayesh Salgaonkar and Independent Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade also took oath as state cabinet ministers.
19 March 2019