South Africa Announces Free Visa to Almost 11 Countries

South Africa Announces Free Visa to Almost 11 Countries
Pristine landscapes and state-of-the-art infrastructure in Cape Town, Photo Credit:

The reinstatement of the visa is a huge step towards boosting the country’s economy. And no, India isn't on the list

OT Staff
October 05 , 2020
01 Min Read

Here's some good news for travellers. South Africa has reinstated their free visa system for a number of countries. This had been suspended since March.

According to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), visas will be available to visitors from France, Germany, Portugal, UK,  Singapore, Spain, Italy, South Korea, Hong Kong, Iran and the USA. International travellers will have to present a negative COVID-19 test result obtained not more than 72 hours prior to travel, or face a mandatory 10-day quarantine.

People from a country listed as ‘high risk’ (think India, unfortunately) will be allowed right now only if they are wanting to travel on business. In such a case, they have to apply to the Department of Home Affairs in writing and state any urgent reasons for their reason to enter the country for business purposes.

Read: South Africa is Giving Away Free Air Trips... for a Year

However MHA minister Dr Aaron Motsoaledi said that despite the relaxed visa rules there haven't been any changes in the prevalent COVID-19 rules.

This comes days after a number of African nations have opened up their borders for international visitors and markets. 

Related Articles

Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe