Flights to Kolkata Banned from 6 Coronavirus Hotspots

Flights to Kolkata Banned from 6 Coronavirus Hotspots
Travel restrictions are changing so often that it's becoming difficult to keep track, Photo Credit: The Teaching Doc/ Shutterstock

Flights will not allowed to fly to Kolkata from these six hotspots, till July 19

OT Staff
July 06 , 2020
01 Min Read

The Unlock Bharat initiative has begun with the centre and state governments gradually reopening state borders, and laying down safety guidelines and protocols to follow. 

However, due to rising number of coronavirus cases, Kolkata has opted to take a step back right now. The civil aviation ministry has decided to suspend flights to Kolkata from Delhi, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Chennai and Ahmedabad from July 6 to July 19, 2020.


This decision was taken after West Bengal’s Chief Secretary Rajiva Sinha sent a request to the centre for banning  flights from several hotspots. Sinha stated that Bengal was witnessing a sharp increase in coronavirus numbers and a large number of cases were being found among people coming from other states. 

The state had also requested reducing the frequency of flights to one flight per week per route for all other cities. However, a decision on that has been not been taken, yet.

The move will cause a lot of inconvenience to people who were planning to travel in or out of Kolkata, and had already bought tickets. It looks like unpredictability is here to stay for a while as it's all a developing situation.  

Related Articles

Of Mid Autumn and Moon...

Uttara Gangopadhyay May 16 , 2022

Shahi Haleem For The Soul

OT Staff April 28 , 2022

Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe