Here Is Everything You Need To Know About The Inner Line Permit

Here Is Everything You Need To Know About The Inner Line Permit
An ILP is needed for four states in India Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Planning to visit the Northeast? You may require an ILP in some of the states. Don't know what it is and how to get it? Here's a guide.

Simrran Gill
January 07 , 2020
03 Min Read

Manipur is the most recent state to join three others in the Northeast, that require an Inner Line Permit (ILP) from visitors. The ILP is an official travel document required to visit four Northeastern states, namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Manipur and Nagaland.

An Inner Line Permit, simply put, is a travel document that is required by non-natives to visit these four Northeastern states. The document is essential to allow entry for either travel or work. Both the duration of stay and the areas allowed to be accessed for any non native are determined by the ILP. Different types of permits are issued based on the purpose of a visit.


The Inner Line Permit is an extension of the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation Act 1873. The Britishers framed regulations restricting entry in certain designated areas. This was done to protect the Crown’s interest in certain states by preventing “British subjects” (Indians) from trading within these regions. In 1950, the term ‘British subjects’ was replaced with ‘Citizens of India’. Today, all non natives require the permit. This was done to protect the indigenous tribal communities of these states from exploitation. 

Domestic tourists can get an ILP both offline and online. 

Arunachal Pradesh
One can apply online or also obtain it from Delhi, Tezpur, Shillong, Kolkata amongst other places. One can also get an ILP on arrival. Apply here.
Application Fee: Rs 100 per person.

One can obtain the ILP for Mizoram from a Liaison Officer, government of Mizoram from Kolkata, Silchar, Shillong, Guwahati and New Delhi. Additionally, it can also be obtained on arrival from the Lengpui Airport, Aizawl. The permit, however, has to be renewed depending upon the purpose of your visit. You can look up more info here.
Application Fee: Rs 20 per person.
Exemption: Government employees visiting for official purposes.

The most recent one to join the other three states, an ILP for Manipur can be obtained from the various counters set up by the government. There are 4 different types of permit that will be issued, regular permits (valid for 6 months), special category permits (valid for 3 years ), temporary permits (valid for 15 days) and labour permits.
Exemption: Members of the Armed Forces and their family members, and central corporations.

For visiting Nagaland one can fill the form for ILP both online and offline. The form once filled will be submitted and only after acceptance one can proceed for the payment. Complete details can be looked up here.
Application Fee: Rs 50 per person (for 15 days), Rs 100 per person (for 30 days).

An ILP is only valid for domestic tourists. For foreign tourists in:

Manipur: No permit is required. However, foreigners visiting Manipur need to register at the CID Office in Imphal. Foreigners visiting Manipur by road from Nagaland may register at the Mao Gate checkpost for an immigration check. Foreigners visiting Manipur by air need to register at the immigration counter located at the Bir Tikendrajit International Airport in Imphal.

Mizoram: No permit is required. However, all foreign nationals have to register themselves at the office of Superintendent of Police (CID/SB) in Mizoram who is the designated Foreigners Registration Officer (FRO) of the state within 24 hours of arrival. Citizens of Afghanistan, China and Pakistan and foreign nationals having their origin in these countries will require prior approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs before entering the state.

Nagaland: No permit is required. However, they need to register with the Foreigner’s Registration Officer (FRO) of the district they visit within 24 hours of their arrival.

Arunachal Pradesh: Tourists need a Protected Area Permit (PAP) or Restricted Area Permit (RAP) from the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India.

Address: F-1, Lok Nayak Bhawan, Khan Market, New Delhi 110 001.

Group tourists consisting of at least four members can obtain the R.A.P from all F.R.R.O in Kolkata, Delhi, Mumbai, and Chennai, Chief Immigration Officer, Chennai and the Commissioner Home, Government of Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar.

Related Articles


Here to there

Explore Directions(Routes) and more...
to Go

Our Other Editions

Outlook’ is India’s most vibrant weekly news magazine with critically and globally acclaimed print and digital editions. Now in its 23rd year...

Explore All
  • Check out our Magazine of the month
  • Offbeat destinations
  • In-depth storytelling
  • Stunning pictures
  • Subscribe